Test cutting with my sharp medieval sword

in #sword5 years ago

A sword is an elegant weapon and a precision tool. The idea that medieval swords were crude and blunt instruments, used to bludgeon your opponent, has long since been disproved.

Several examples of surprisingly sharp swords have been found around Europe, surprising because they have often been lying in the ground for hundreds of years. Most recently, one was found in Aalborg in Denmark, where a sword from the 1300 hundreds was found a few days ago.
The article made me think about cutting. Cutting is a discipline which is well known in most sword traditions and has also been taken up in historical European fencing. it is both a way to test the sharpness or the durability of a blade but even more so the skill of the wielder. It is a great way to test your edge alignment. i.e. whether you are able to hit with the edge first.
I havent done a whole lot of cutting. We cannot do it at training since it requires a sharp sword and often quite a lot of cleanup afterwards, so any cutting I wanted to do had to be at home. I have a permit for sharp swords and so can legally use them for something like this as long as it is on my own premises. Anyway the swords get dirty and/or wet and so I haven´t really done it.


This friday I had most of the day of, and so I decided to do a bit of cutting. I found the best sword for the job, which is my medieval onehander. The arche-typical knights sword of a type that was in common use throughout the middle ages. Then I found an empty milk jug (or carton or whatever that is called in English) and filled it with water.

I went outside , since the risk of having a waterfilled container flying through the air is pretty big, and placed the jug on the edge of our garden table.
To my surprise the first cut was perfect and I lobbed of the upper part of the jug without tumbling the jug of the edge. I took a closeup to see the quality of the cut and it was slightly frayed at the edge but not enough to be of any concern.


I did another one to see if it had been luck or not and that one was pretty perfect as well. unfortunately I didn´t have anymore milk (or other) containers so I couldn´t continue my practice, but now that I know it is possible and that I can do it I will make sure to collect some jugs or plastic bottles for next time.
I will also try to get a camera rigged up for some video. cutting is much more fun on video than just watching the results as images.

until then.

Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out my accounts on these sites:

Cults3d
Thingiverse
Shapeways

Youre welcome to like or follow me there as well.

Sort:  

You should have a dinner party and whip that out to carve the Sunday roast, that'd be a dinner conversational starter :)

:-) and possibly quite dangerous , at least after a few glasses of wine. My son actually had to remove the swords when he had some friends over , because they wanted to start fencing. I have told him that next time he can let them fence with Dussacks, those are short training sabers made of leather or rubber.

You gotta have a licence for a sword? Wow. Insane law! Here I can order and have it shipped here without an issue.

So what kinda sword? And maker?

Definitely need to get me a HEMA sword one day. I had a Katana that was super Spendy but that's not my style really. Should have traded for a European sword.

And actually the edge geometry is what cuts and makes the European swords so effective

Yeah we do need a license, to own swords, not that i ever heard of anyone being prosecuted for owning one without a license, and I know for a fact that there are a lot of unregistered swords out there, in particular because the law actually goes for any bladed weapon above 12 centimeter blade length. Tools and household utensils are exempt though, so it is technically legal to own a japanese maguro bōchō without a permit.
the sword is an Oakeshott type XII and the maker is me. I made it to be a compromise cut-n-thrust so the blade is not super cutty, but still fairly effective. it is one of only 3 sharp sword that I have made so far. I did a post about it a while ago. You can see it here. And yes edge geometry is important. I think it was Peter Johnson who said. geometry decides if it is sharp, steeltype and heat-treat decides if it stays sharp

Wow. Impressed! And I love edged weapons. Awesome I'd love to have you on my show sometime. That's killer. Need to start a sword group some day! Already doing a ton though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm just reading this post now, 2 months late.
A sharp sword is a thing of beauty, and requires some skill of the operator to use properly.
I have a couple of inexpensive swords that are more long knife than sword. I doubt that the steel is as good as a wall made sword usually is.

Absolutely want to get one of these soon but it is absolutely gorgeous and congratulations on making it to the maker.

I was just teaching swordsmanship yesterday

Posted using Partiko Android