Status Update: CODECO, Mercury Synthetic, Driftwood Spirits

So I've been kind of incommunicado for a while, and I want to be better about talking about progress.

My master's classes have started up again after a spring break, and I'm currently working on three projects that should all be out pretty soon (i.e. two this week, one early next month).

Codeco

The first of these is a competition entry for CODECO 2020. It's the first time I've entered a game design competition with groups instead of individuals (or at least the first I remember), and we submitted our draft of a game yesterday. I'm doing the lion's share of the work, including the cover and other stuff, so expect some absolutely atrocious artistic vision, but when it comes out I'll link to it here.

However, I'm really in love with it, though there are some limits placed for the sake of the competition that I'd probably work around when making a finished version of the game.

A couple things that I'm trying to do here are implement some of the sticky design goals that have plagued Hammercalled, Genship Exiles, and other games that I've been feeling are too difficult to really deal with. In addition, I wanted to work on a game that could be tailored to a living campaign with multiple groups sharing characters and players with each other.

That will probably be the last game to actually release of all of the ones I talk about today, but it's the largest one and it's going to be something that might evolve into something more.

Mercury Synthetic

A while back @znkd did some art for Jupiter Sovereign, which is sitting somewhere on my giant pile of things to do, and I've been bad about getting to it.

One of the visions I had for Jupiter Sovereign is that it's part of a larger arc of games, in which I blend themes of mysticism and alchemy with a focus on transhumanism and the psyche.

Mercury Synthetic is going to be a prequel to Jupiter Sovereign, focusing on the role that machines play in our lives and questions about how machines become more human and inspired by stories like Ray Bradbury's and Isaac Asimov's.

If all goes according to plan, it will be out on Tuesday this week.

image.png

Driftwood Spirits

Driftwood Spirits is a storytelling game centered on the survivors of an apocalyptic flood.

I wanted to explore and experiment with a more purely storytelling-based game, somewhere between The Quiet Year and Microscope, though there is obviously some room for original elements.

Driftwood Spirits should be released on Thursday if everything goes according to plan. I'd post the cover, but something's gone a little silly with it and it won't upload right.

Sort:  

Awesome ! I am excited for the Driftwood Spirits. Storytelling based games are a whole lot of fun. Makes me work on my improv skills.

I wish you luck and look forward to seeing some posts about it.