Tabletop - Funding my hobby

in #tabletop6 years ago

For some people my age, they have the cash available for spending on their hobby. And in all honesty so do I. But I will feel bad if I had to fork out what GW is asking for their kit. Especially when I think of how much plastic (crack) I am hoarding at home.

20180515_213701.jpg

So what I am doing is simple. I buy second hand. 90% of what I own is bought second hand. My entire tau army is second hand except for Start Collecting set - which Is an awesome package and value for money.

20170829_214010.jpg

Now, the thing is I don't only buy second hand of what I collect but all my friends as well. In this way I can broaden my search and broaden my purchases. I also quite frequent buy from people who has long ago left the hobby, but find a long forgotten box of warhammer in the garage and they sell it off cheap.

Screenshot_20180519-213945.jpg
Upper left box is how I got some of the ones in the otjer picture.

Then I would take it in and sort it into the different armies, hand it out to my friends for cheap and sell it to other people. I would normally also try to take a nice and clean photo of what I am selling. Looks more inviting that way.

20180515_220511.jpg

Normally this means I can keep a rhino or two, crisis suits or sometimes actuallu make a profit... which would obviously go into a purchase of fex airbrush, compressor, another second hand army ..

20180515_214210.jpg

Another example of what someone just "threw" out, a fantastic trio of Space Marines

Obviously sometimes people sell of old stock or boxes they never started on. Those deals are like finding the treasure under the rainbow.

20160515_202305.jpg

Sort:  

you should start a project here at steemit, where you put yourself a goal, and with the help of steemit community see if you can reach it :P

What sort of goal?

Like, get 100 followers, or 300 Or, ask Steemit users to support your hobby, by posting a goal, which can only be reached by the steemit community helping

My imperial fist army and orks (reggetorks) are 95% from second hand miniatures models... i dont know what the blood ravens are the most second handed armies of all. (hard to remove scorched red from miniatures)

IMG_2645.jpg

20141019_100358.jpg

39727_10150229967615618_4740566_n.jpg

One man's trash is another man's Landraider!

I agree totally with you about nice and clean photo of what You are am selling. Looks more inviting that way and you can probably increase the ROI but 50-70%

Congratulations @xhi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!