We Need Emergency Help, Fast

in #tarc5 years ago (edited)

The photo above? It shows two inches of water in our basement floor. Not cool. We have a problem.

It's been a while since we posted. Much has been happening, including a tough decision to suspend active rescue, at least for now. Why? Because we cannot find the funding to support our efforts, and with the price of Steem so low, we have no backup resource. That choice being made, we then ran into a series of unfortunate events, and we don't mean the movie by that title.

First, the water line into the house froze when temperatures dipped below zero degrees Farenheit. This happened even with the tap running. During the coldest night, our basement thermometer registered three degrees--inside. That's the night our indoor water line froze for the first time since we've been at this location, and based on the probable age of the plumbing, it was most likely the first time in at least seventy years.

You can imagine what happened when temperatures rose above freezing. The short video below will illustrate the severity of the problem.

The following day, our resident guardian Milo suffered a gruesome injury to his face while doing his duty to protect our property from predators and intruders. The trauma resulted in an avulsion through all layers of soft tissue down to his skull. Immediate first aid and bandaging closed the wound enough for it to wait until morning, but he's currently hospitalized and receiving veterinary care. While it does look like his vision in that eye will be spared, the bill for saving him will be devastating for us.

So not only will we have to find funding to fix the plumbing (we currently have no water supply to the house,) we also have to pay to patch up poor Milo. Trust us--he's worth it. But this is an emergency. We need all the help we can get. In addition, we have placement for two difficult dogs but especially in light of these new problems, we can't afford to put them on transport. Any help you can offer is deeply appreciated.

For our blockchain supporters, we have a Fundition campaign. As you can see, we haven't met our goal. This would be a great time to offer help.

For other supporters who wish to offer immediate help in the form of USD, our PayPal link is https://www.paypal.me/tazewellarc , and PayPal ID is [email protected] . Any amount is appreciated.

Please consider helping us through this situation. As we clear the rescue of adoptable dogs, we'll still have sanctuary dogs to care for, though those numbers will be small. We're also not dissolving the nonprofit. We'll instead focus on raising funds for community spay/neuter projects aimed at ending the problem of unwanted pets in Central Appalachia.

Thank you.

Sort:  

@tarc has been chosen to receive another donation of 100 STEEM from the A Dollar A Day project - supported today by @pennsif, @attoan.cmt, @creatr, @cryptocurator, @d-vine, @delishtreats, @drakos, @ghro, @girlbeforemirror, @goldendawne, @hungryhustle, @lyndsaybowes, @marblely, @nainaztengra, @quochuy, @shanibeer, @steevc, @stevelivingston

Contact @pennsif if you would like to know more about A Dollar A Day.



This is great, @adollarday and @pennsif. I'm so thrilled to see this support for TARC.

A Dollar A Day is happy to be able to help @tarc and Milo.

Milo looks in a poor old way. I hope the vet can get him all fixed up soon.

My heart goes out to you for these awful challenges that you're facing. 💙

Wishing a swift and complete recovery for poor Milo and for fortune to smile on you for all of the love and effort you put into helping those dogs.

Brisby, I appreciate you soooo much. I'll be in touch soon with a proper thank you.

You just gave me the most beautiful and perfect thank you! 💖🤗

Take care of what you need and I hope that everything is looking up!

Since you finally made a friend/ally in the sheriff's department, I wonder if they would know of someone who might be able to fix the plumbing issue, free of charge, out of the goodness of their heart? ...for a charity? It can't hurt to ask!

Thinking of you and sending positive thoughts... 💙

Not a chance. They won't even send prisoners or community service parolees out here to help.

Resteemed, and I’ll share on twitter too. Poor Milo. How much is his vet bill? Poor baby 😭

It was over $50026B72719-BB6A-4AB0-83B7-394CCD07F8AE.jpeg

ah dang, Rhonda, that is a lot of money. 😥 I have shared on Twitter, hopefully someone with deep pockets sees it.

Do you guys have a Twitter acc?

This breaks my heart hearing about a dog suffering. I can send you some SBD's if that will help, i don't have much money at this end. Let me know :)

@karenb54 , anything helps. We've raised $350 fiat of a $544 bill, and I'm hoping to make up the difference with crypto.

Ok hun I'll send you some SBDs now on one condition, you give that furbaby a massive cuddle from me :)

Done!
Milo's hug for Karenb54.JPG

Thank you. He's gorgeous :)

He is, and I love this dog so much.

I sent it to you. Was that OK?

Yes! Thank you sooooo much! I am Director of TARC, so there is a clear way to track where the $$ goes.

I hope it helps. :)

Following you for further updates :)

Oh my GOD that poor pup!

Ok I am resteeming this and sending it to where I can to help you guys out! This is devastating. Sending you a little bit of steem as I can. It wont be much as I have other things going on but its something, will send again when I can though.!!

What a bunch of bad luck for people who are only trying to do good! I'm resteeming here as well as sharing on my facebook page, and my twitter account as well. And sent a little something to your paypal - wish I had the resources for it to be more!

Can't send any fund but will be sure to send you reiki vibes 💯🐒


This project is being supported by @Fundition the next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program
Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper
work_on_progess.gif

steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png
Join a community with heart based giving at its core
Fundition is a non profit project, by supporting it with delegation you are supporting 200+ projects.
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

I've resteemed! And I will do what I can to help! I'm so sorry to hear about this terrible set of mishaps.

I really wish I had the means to help, other than just resteeming this. I do have a suggestion though to attract more attention. When I was scrolling down, I almost didn't read the post, because I didn't know what the picture was. I also didn't know that you were running a dog sanctuary until I kept reading, and that your financial issues are affecting more than just one person, and consequently the ability to care for these dogs. If you were to use Milo's picture as the thumbnail, it would immediately stir an emotional reaction, and cause more people to click on it. (Not that the plumbing issues alone aren't a nightmare I'm sure) Good luck, and thank you for doing what you do :)

I have a post I'll share tonight using him as a thumbnail, with a slightly less gruesome image. :-)

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Damn Milo looks rough.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it's pretty bad.

Oh Rhonda, I am so sorry, I knew it would be bad, but obviously had no idea about Milo. Keeping you and him in my thoughts and prayers.

The good news is that I just shared your fundraiser on FB again, the day before yesterday, with a plea for additional help. I'll share this link as well, with a specific request to several people I know. I hope it will help.

At the moment I'm in a cash crunch as well, but I'll transfer some STEEM to you, which is the best I can do at the moment.

Thank you, Cori. :-)

You're welcome, Rhonda - I hope it helps.

Oh, Milo!!! Take care over there. Resteemed and will do what I can to spread the word.

A lost Dachshund was found swallowed whole in the stomach of a giant catfish in Berlin on July 2003.

Milo is home from the hospital tonight and resting quietly. The vet had to sew his face back onto his head, basically. It had degloved from his skull. The repairs went well, though, and are already healing. I’ll update with another post soon.
00824117-68BA-44CC-BCF6-E04EA401F59B.jpeg

Sorry to hear about poor Milo he is definitely worth it, I wish I could do more as I like the work you do but here is a %100 upvote. It's not worth much but I am working on getting more SP.