La Posada d'Ariant (Pollenca, Majorca, Spain): A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image

One of the biggest perks of working as a musician who travels a lot is the fact that I get to visit many restaurants all over the world and taste different foods from different cultures. That said, one of my favourite countries to eat in is in Spain, where they really know how to make delicious food! However, it isn’t a place that knows how to make food in a hurry…

The Space

The photo at the top of the post is the time that we sat down to eat (it already took about 30 minutes or more to just get water and bread and to begin to make orders!). The photo below was taken about two and a half hours later when we finally finished and settled the bill!

a3.jpg

As you can see from the photos, it is mainly outdoor seating. From what I saw of the inside, there were only a couple of tables for inside use. Of course, with the weather being phenomenally good (and hot and humid), there was absolutely no one seated inside! Also, the kitchen is inside, which made the inside seating uncomfortably hot in the warm weather.

The Menu

a1.jpg

The tapas menu was quite varied, featuring all the classic Spanish little bites that you would expect for an island town. This board was the tapas specials that they had for this week, there was also a tapas section in the main menu, but I think this was by far and away the more interesting choices of food!

a2.jpg

This was the regular menu. Apologies for the poor lighting, as the photo was taken at the end of the evening when the light was quite bad and I forgot to turn my flash back on. I guess if you zoom in, you can see that there a great selection of salads, various meats and fish dishes. Even some pizzas, although in Spain, I wouldn’t order pizza…

No wine menu this evening. We were due to have a concert after a long day of travelling, and so it probably wasn’t a great idea to be drinking… but we were tempted!

The Food

The table bread (no photo, sorry!) was served with an Aioli spread. The Aioli was great, generous portion and not too garlic tasting, just right (although, I was tasting a bit of garlic the next day…). The bread was really quite a good one, I wouldn’t be able to tell you exactly what it was, but it was the right sort of texture and sponginess, not fluffy. One of my colleagues said that it was also unsalted, which might have been the thing that made it stand out.

a5.jpg

When you order at this restaurant, don’t expect small servings. This is the size of a salad. This particular one was a Goat’s Cheese salad that was served with all manner of berries and fruit that one of my colleagues ordered. She was expecting something a little smaller… A theme that would be repeated for all of us at the table!

a6.jpg

I personally ordered a dish of Calamari as my starter tapas. I got this dish, which I have to say was absolutely great! The meat of the calamari was just soft and tender, and the lightly crumbed outside was enhanced by just a touch of herbs and salt. Perfectly cooked, not stringy at all!

a4.jpg

Well, I’m a Lamb addict, and so when I saw there was a local Majorcan recipe for a lamb shoulder, I had to give it a go. This was where I was defeated a bit, my eyes were just bigger than my stomach, and despite the lamb being delicious, I wasn’t have to completely finish it. However, it didn’t go to waste, as another colleague joined us and helped me finish it off. The lamb was great, but the potatoes were divine, I’m not sure how they did it, but there was a delicious taste that was matched with a slightly chewy texture, and they were not dry at all. I really have to learn to see if it was a Spanish way of cooking them, or if it was something that was special to the restaurant. I would give anything to have all my oven baked potatoes tasting like this!

No Dessert this time, one of my colleagues did have a Creme Brule, which looked pretty good, but I was completely stuffed by this time! And I still had to work....

Conclusion

The dinner was actually quite nice, lots of food, decent size meals. It was a touch on the expensive side of things, but it was well worth it. The service was okay, nothing special, and there was a slight problem with the bill at the end which was resolved in our favour (keep an watchful eye out in these tourist areas…).

Like I mentioned before, speed of service was not really a highlight. We had two and a half hours before the concert and after the rehearsal for dinner, which was only JUST enough time to have a two course meal. Needless to say, if you are in a hurry, this is not the place to go. However, if you are in Majorca, it is likely that you are on holiday, and so time is not too much of an issue!

I would definitely go again, it is worth the money, and the food was great. If it were possible, I would take even more time to eat, so that I would have to time to enjoy and digest everything!

Contact Details

Website: https://www.facebook.com/posada.ariant
Address: Carrer d'Antoni Maura, 40, 07460 Pollença, Illes Balears, Spain
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/posada.ariant
Phone: +34 971 53 00 53

Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS


Restaurant Information


La Posada d'Ariant
score
Carrer d'Antoni Maura, 40, 07460 Pollença, Illes Balears, Spain


La Posada d'Ariant (Pollenca, Majorca, Spain): A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

[tasteem supporter]
#tasteem-curation

Great review of the restaurant! I loved the fact the servings are big so you don't feel like you are getting ripped off.

Cheers

Thank you! Yes, the servings are big, but so is the price! But it was worth it, the food was great! The Spanish take their food seriously, and like to take their time to digest it... (and make it..)...

Adding this one to my lists of when I travel I must eat here! Thank you for sharing. The perks sof being a musician <3

The minuses being the lack of money! So we have to make up for it elsewhere!

Of course! Have you shared any of your music here @bengy? I would love to listen <3 hit me with a link <3

I only shared a few things as the reward structure doesn't really suit itself to professionals... and there is a danger in putting out recordings that aren't "ready"!

https://steemit.com/music/@bengy/my-personal-music-round-up

Also you can find recordings from an orchestra that I play with here has well (@musicapoetica). if you are interested.

Not such a bad place to enjoy dinner! It did look yummy!

Not bad at all! Just really really slow!

Interesting review, @bengy! That sure looks nice!

Thanks! It was pretty tasty! Just too much food for me...

Good writing about the restaurant and food. It really awesome.

Thanks! it was pretty delicious!

The food looks and sounds delicious! To travel and eat food from around the world would be an absolute dream! Thank you for sharing your food from Spain. I can't wait to indulge in tapas when I visit Barcelona next year!

Oh the Spanish tapas in Spain... nothing compares to be able to do that! The tapas at Spanish restaurants in other parts of the world just are not the same!

This week, I'm hoping to get some nice food from Japan... tour schedule willing...

The plates look very delicious! Very nice Tasteem review, @bengy.

Thank you! They were great. Although, I really needed more time (if that can be believed, after 2.5 hours for dinner!) to eat slowly and just enjoy it!

This looks and sounds like a wonderful place for dinner! Nice photos and great review! Perhaps we can organize a #steemitbloggers meet & greet there! 😊

Ha ha, @jaynie! That would be a great idea! Meet up in Majorca?

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bengy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-39c841


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, thats awesome, perfect shots

Thank you!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @bengy, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!