Tasteem Review, Best Breakfast - Tosai, Dhosai, Dose or Dosa?

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


I always love Indian Style breakfast, but this time the portion that I had was a bit too much for me too handle. It is so delicious, but the portion is a bit huge which took me a while to finish up. Let me introduce to you a pancake lookalike that originates from Southern India that is called Tosai in Malaysia.


The view from the outside of the restaurant. Big menus board are even being displayed to potential customers passing by it. It can easily be seen even when you are driving.

I am not sure what's the correct spelling or pronounciation of this delicacy. When I checked through the internet Tosai is also spelled as Dhosai, Dose or Dosa, and it is also pronounced differently.


View of the inside, more menus are being displayed (hung over the counter), even some of the tables has menus stickers.
Tables are neatly arranged and has a fair share of distance between them. Making it comfortable for customers to dine alone or in a group.

I had my first Tosai when I was still studying in a college in Kulala Lumpur in the late 90's, introduced by my Indian friends. But back then the portion is not as huge as what I had at Restoran Amin Maju in Kota Kinabalu. I was really surprised when they served it to me.


Just look how huge that Tosai is. Luckily my wife came to this restaurant with me, so I end up sharing it with her. The Tosai is like a thin crusted pancake and tasted a bit sour as the batter is made of fermented rice. It tasted really good when you eat or dip it with curry, dhal, chutney and vegetables. Just imagining the taste makes me drool for it.
The breakfast will only be complete if you had it with these delicious Milky Bubbly Tea or Teh Tarik.

If you ever visited Kota Kinabalu City, make sure to drop by this nice restaurant. The owner is a terrific friendly guy, and his staffs are really friendly and attentive too. Plus, the restaurant is clean, comfortable and opens for business 24 hours daily.


Restaurant Information


Restoran Amin Maju, Kota Kinabalu
score
Lot 11, Block B, Plaza Juta, Mile 4, Jalan Tuaran, Likas, 88400 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia


Tasteem Review, Best Breakfast - Tosai, Dhosai, Dose or Dosa?
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Best breakfast


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Tohsai is pretty healthy stuff to eat and the bubbly Teh Tarik! Nice breakfast.

Can tosai be categorized as healthy food.

Posted using Partiko Android

Compared to other like roti canai, it is less oily. So I consider one 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are right buddy. It is less oily.

Posted using Partiko Android

I like how their menu is posted big enough so all can see. Tosai looks satisfying indeed. Big serving for breakfast.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was big, took me awhile to finish it. Lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha name Dosa is funny la 😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Makan banyak itu dosa haha

Lol. It is funny

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow there are many choices of breakfast in Malaysia~

Yes it is. Sometimes we are spoilt for choices too. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks soo delicious! I love how the drink was presented. THanks for sharing this and have a great day

Have a great day to you too @sgbonus

Posted using Partiko Android

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Best breakfast > Contest . Thanks to @beverlyjoe, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hi @beverlyjoe!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.139 which ranks you at #24019 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 118 contributions, your post is ranked at #66.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server