Grilling by the street

in #tasteem4 years ago

title_image


I was on my way home one night and was thinking what will be for dinner when I passed by this nipa hut café.

The crew was happily grilling along the street and I thought, "why not dine in here?"

When I started taking photo of the hut, one of them asked, "Ma'am, kasama ba kami diyan? Are we included in there? She meant on my photo.

"Ah, gusto niyong sumama? Sige! Pero ipo-post ko ito sa social media ha. Okay lang ba?"

"Ah, you want to be in the photo? Sure! But I will be posting these on social media. Will that be okay?"

"Sige, ma'am."

And here they are possing with gusto for me...
20200301_200355.jpg

For a while my eyes got fixed on the chicken feet. I asked how much per stick and the lady in red said it is ten pesos. That's US$0.20.
20200301_200410.jpg

There were other sticks that they were grilling. One is what they call as betamax on the streets. It is solidified pig or chicken blood and grilled like barbecue. I did not pay attention to the content of the other tray. I thought those were chicken heads.
20200301_200517.jpg

Anyway, I was still interested with the chicken feet which by the way is called adidas in the streets. Before I ordered, I asked if they have rice for serving. Unfortunately, they don't. The lady in red said they ran out of it because it's already late at night. Late? It was just past eight. Anyway, without rice, I ordered only two sticks. I should have ordered five or more sticks if there was rice. 😁
20200301_200536.jpg

While my order was on the grill, I went back to taking photos. More customers came after me.
20200301_200607.jpg

The lady in red asked if I will take the sticks home.

"Can I just eat here?"

The dining area inside the hut was cleared and the furnitures were set aside. However, I feel it will be hassle to be bringing home just two sticks.

The lady in red said yes, it's okay.

20200301_200656.jpg

I went inside the hut and took the first table to the right by the wall. It was not set aside. Apparently, only the center part of the dining area was cleared.

When my order was ready, the sticks were handed to me. I started on one of them when a lady behind the counter in front motioned something. I thought she was asking if I need a plate. I said yes. Indeed, a plate was served.

20200301_201031.jpg

That was cool. I got it right what I answered "yes" for. It was a great convenience because you can imagine how I would be nibbling on a stick while holding one.
20200301_201632.jpg

Two more customers arrived after me. One took the table to the other side to my left. One was set up a table and a chair in the middle.
20200301_201736.jpg

When I was about to finish my second stick, one of the crew came with a tray of pitcher of water and a glass. I was very surprised.

I thought it was already a bonus when they allowed me to eat in with a very cheap order. To serve me with water without me asking for it? That was awesome!

20200301_201920.jpg

When I got up and started to leave, the crew was also cleaning and packing up their grill and other stuff outside. I was again surprised.

"Wow! I just finished two sticks of chicken feet barbecue and you're already packing up. What? Someone came and bought all those sticks earlier?" My back was to them when I was inside the hut so I did not notice how their sales were going while I was eating.

The lady in red smiled and said yes.

That was againcool. Surprisingly cool...


Zaire Cafě and Grill
B7 L13 Sta. Cecilia St.
corner San Antonio Ave
San Antonio Valley 1
Parañaque City
Metro Manila
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Zaire Cafě and Grill
score
San Antonio Ave, San Antonio, Parañaque, 1700 Metro Manila, Philippines


Grilling by the street
This post participated in the Tasteem contest BBQ & Burgers


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! 🌞💖🌞

I think I have eaten something like this in Saigon, yum yum.

It won't be surprising because street foods are almost the same in Southeast Asia.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <BBQ & Burgers> Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Simple yet delicious!

I hope everything is going well with you and your family during this pandemic. May you stay safe po!

Nice restaurant! I love that it was built from bamboo and has beautiful design.

I think I haven't seen the "grilled chicken feet" before in my area. Very amazing and look yummy! :)

p.s. We cooked the chicken feet in our soup or other menus. ;)