Ilocos miki

in #tasteem4 years ago

title_image


After I don't know how many years, I got the chance to visit The Landmark mall at Trinoma in Quezon City. I was just passing by for a different appoint across the mall but I arrived too early so I decided to let time pass in the mall. After few minutes of roaming in the department store, I thought of having merienda so I asked for the direction of the food court.

I found the food court and was impressed of its calm ambiance. It is not the usual food court I see that is crowded of diners. The artificial palm trees added to the inviting ambiance.
20200229_142721.jpg

The food stores seem limited though. And it looked like most of them are serving fastfoods. Given that impression, I did not want to go canvassing the other stores. I settled to the first one in line.

From the name of the store alone, a local can already tell that their dishes are from the Ilocos region. And I was actually surprised to see that there are many options on their menu.
20200229_142817.jpg

While I was looking at the menu, a lady with a senior one (I suppose her mother) came and I let them go first. I continued looking on.
20200229_142935.jpg

Theit store name prides for empanada that is maybe why they have very good presentations of such. Those do not look like the common empanada that I know...
20200229_142947.jpg

...Because this is how empanada looks like. Or at least it is what I am used to.
20200229_143011.jpg

In spite of the store specializing with empanada, I wanted something else to warm me up. I waa not keen to having full meal so my next option was the noodles. I picked the Ilocos miki.

The preparation was fast. I just stood by for few minutes and did not have to have a seat first and wait. One thing that made me sigh a bit was to see that it was in a paper bowl. Anyway, it won't affect the taste after all.
20200229_143208.jpg

The miki was firm but tender. I loved the soup which was a bit sour. It has bits and pieces of crushed chicharon which gave a diversity of texture in the mouth. I found myself wanting for more after I finished the bowl. I wished I ordered for a bigger serving but I dis not look if there was indeed a bigger serving.

Now it is time to go. Who knows I will have another chance to pass by this mall or another branch of the store somewhere else. Let's see..
20200229_143325.jpg

Fariñas Ilocos Empanada
Food Center
2F Landmark Trinoma
173 Epifanio delos Santos Avenue
Quezon City
Metro Manila
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Fariñas Ilocos Empanada
score
EDSA corner, Trimona Mall, 173 Epifanio de los Santos Ave, Quezon City, 1105 Metro Manila, Philippines


Ilocos miki
This post participated in the Tasteem contest All about noodles


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <All about noodles> Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Interesting mall with yummy foods 👍

Nice food court with beautiful decoration, especially with the huge artificial palm trees! All foods in the menu look good and your noodles look yummy. I love the soup which is a bit sour, too.

Thanks for sharing. ;)