The Gibraltar & Co.

in #tasteem4 years ago

This is one of my first haunts

When I first arrived in Buenos Aires, I hung out here. Many expatriates need a place where they can get fish and chips, an English breakfast, or just a bowl of chili.

coverborder.jpeg

The feel is that of a English Pub from the street to the table lamps and book cases above the bar.

I am not from the U.K. but there were times that I could not continue in Spanish. Just needed a couple hours without thinking about genders and verbs. Was it el or la?

For the last twenty years - the welcome center for new arrivals.

20191122_153808.jpg

Food is served all day and well into the wee hours. All of the employees speak English and one can order without pointing to the pictures and uttering, "Esto." which is the neutral form of this.

It is not very big in width, but I will take you trough from the front to back. Most of the shops in San Telmo have a small footprint at the street, but they are deep with living quarters in the back. See below to find out what Gibaltar has done with theirs.

20191121_173218.jpg

20191122_153055.jpg

The portraits and wall paper will bring you back to London, if that is where you are from. There is a library above the bar to that mimics a sitting room, but it is all just for show.

20191121_172807_2.gif

Pull up a bar stool and grab a pint.

I left my backpack at the bar. One of the few places where you can do that.


20191121_172807_1.gif


As we move toward the back room, we can stop to order whatever your heart desires. They will delivered to the pool room if you are in a game.

20191122_153346.jpg

20191122_153236.jpg

I got the clilli-cheese fries served with a wooden tote containing utensils, napkins, the wifi-pass, and an assortment of condiments.

20191122_151549.jpg

This was the first place to serve home-cooking from my home far away. That was way back when.

Taco joints and Tabasco were available only in my dreams.

It has been a while, but Gibraltar is still kicking.

I have been meaning to so a post on Tasteem.io but I only see one way to do a post, which is to enter a contest. I will do that one day, but this post is one of my early hang-outs. On my list. Vote. Follow. Enjoy

Onward through the kitchen...

20191121_172517_1.gif

Pool is Free if you can keep the table

The winner takes on all comers until they are beaten!

American 8-Ball is the only game allowed. Put your name on the chalkboard and someone will hunt you down when it is your turn to take on the boss.

If you mange to hold the table until closing, you may enter a yearly tournament. I recognize three of the names, ex-coworkers, immortalized on the wall of fame.

I have so many pictures, you may need to ask for more in the comments. Feel free!

There are signs everywhere. One reads, "All beer is imported from Argentina."

The big guy at the pool table is a fixture here, and he even has a sign on his back - the only one not written in chalk.

20191122_152649.jpg

The sign in the picture translates...

Golden Rule.

This is only a game. Whoever doesn't understand that and can't resolve a conflict by way of reason and good manners, will be considered an "idiot" by the management of this establishment....

Of course, written on a chalk board.

20191121_172430_1.gif

Next let me give you a shot of the garden. The signs out there are painted.

At 4:00 a.m., this place is packed full and many a beer is spilled by the stray elbow or the butt of a pool stick.

In all, the tour brings us through a wonderful cultural portal between two hemispheres. It is twenty feed wide and two hundred feed deep. I stopped on my way home from the gun-range and felt the need to give you this tour.

Friends and co-workers have come and gone from this city, but The Gibralter is still here, a bit worse for the wear, but loved.

20191122_153559.jpg


See other reviews of Gibraltar. or go to the f-site page


Past Reviews of Great Food Places

The Taco Factory
Don Us Donuts
Sushi Boom
Sushi San Telmo
Magic Donut
Spiga - Pizza and Pasta
Che Taco Revisited (every week)
Mi Sueño
Emviar
Che Taco
Hardrock Cafe

sponge bob.jpg



What is Tasteem?


tasteem.png

Sort:  

Many good post, you want to get to this place, it seems that if you eat well and by the letter I see that you have some very affordable prices

Una excelente regla de juego, esto es solo un juego nada de pelear, muy bien debe ser un estupendo espacio para divertirse. No debí ver el post mientras cenaba me dio hambre ver esas papas y listas de comidas, ja ja. @sponge-bob

An excellent rule of the game, this is just a game nothing to fight, very well it must be a great space to have fun. I shouldn't have seen the post while having dinner, I was hungry to see those potatoes and food lists, ha ha. @sponge-bob