The Thai Chef - A Zeke Tasteem Review!

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

A blind date huh?

Truth be told I have about as much of a chance to be on a blind date as I have giving up beer for lent. I have been married so long that nether have much chance of happening. If I did though, I would choose a Thai food restaurant like The Thai Chef http://www.thaichefcuisine.com/ for the following reasons:

  1. I am exotic - I would not come right out and profess my status as international rock star, world-renowned beer blogger, and all of the other things that make me.....me. Otherwise, it would all be about me and that is no way to impress a date. I would pick exotic cuisine I loved and just roll with it.
  2. Hopefully she is worldly - If she is already adventurous enough to be a fan of foreign cuisine, that is a step in the right direction. Otherwise, I can be seen as worldly and help her discover some new and exciting food.
  3. Worst case scenario - Blind dates have the distinct possibility of going sideways. If this happens, I can at least have enjoyed a meal I love so the night would not be a total loss. Besides that, there are plenty of Thai food lovers on STEEM and Tasteem so half the meal would be paid for in steem when you put together a review! Win/Win.

text16.png

Can I start you with a drink?

IMG_8026 (1).jpg

You know me too well! Of course you can. What have you got on tap.

"We are all out of draft beer."

Well that is somewhat of a shame. I searched the menu for another one I might like and the best seemed to be a beer I had not had in years and years. I ordered an Upper Canada Dark https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Upper_Canada_Brewing_Company for a change. Out of that too. Upper Canada Lager? Sorry sold out.

I settled upon a Tiger beer as that brings back memories of travel and interesting beer. Without a word, I was instead delivered a TsingTao. Alrighty then.

If this was a blind date, it was not starting out great on the beer front.

text16.png

The Menu

IMG_8018 (1).jpg

The menu turns out to be presented in the form of a large sheet with the Specialty dishes, and a second 2-sided one with the regular menu. A little confusing and redundant but I guess you really have to make it easy for typical honkies to order something they won't be scared by.

The specialty dishes are probably all the menu you would need with its selection of vegetarian, seafood, duck, and shrimp prepared so many ways. Perhaps this is simply the last page of a 3-page menu as it has a couple desserts on it?

text16.png

IMG_8020 (1).jpg

When it comes to starters, I am a little pedestrian because I am generally eating with the family...and the family loves their spring rolls. One good thing about Thai Chef is there are quite a few variations on the typical spring roll including salad, chicken and shrimp.

Tom Yum soup is also a nice standard though not your only choice of soups and the salads are quite varied if you are into that. Good for a blind date.

text16.png

IMG_8019 (1).jpg

This page is the PAYLOAD for me as there are so many different noodle, rice, lamb, bbq chicken and beef selections.......though I love me a Thai curry so much. As I pour over the menu, I remember that I knew what I was going to eat from the moment someone mentioned we go to this place.

text16.png

IMG_8021.jpg

As we await our food and sip on the Chinese beer, I am wondering why the place is so empty. Maybe because they have a tough time with the beer? Then it occurs to me that it is only 5:00 pm or so and many people in this city eat dinner much later when going to a restaurant.

text16.png

IMG_8022.jpg

The wait for food seems so much shorter when you order an appetizer doesn't it? Would make for a better blind date this way so there is not an awkward delay between sitting down and making too much conversation between ordering and eating.

We opted for the Spring Rolls as usual as well as some fried Calamari! The sauce was the perfect mix of sweet and spicy and the breading surprisingly light and fluffy. Calamari in these parts can be like onion rings with thick greasy batter but this was actually a pretty nice surprise.

text16.png

Now for my Favourite!

IMG_8024.jpg

Before kids, we used to come to this place often. It was because I loved the Crispy Tamarind Beef. For me, it is the perfect combination of texture, sweetness and spiciness. I love to get coconut rice to mix it with and eat with chopsticks as it somehow makes each bit perfect.

text16.png

Patented Zeke Extreme Close-up!

IMG_8025.jpg

This had to be the subject of my standard extreme close up shot. It seems to be the most popular part of my Tasteem reviews as the reader imagines me forcing my phone right into my plate, the people around me looking sideways at the hipster taking pictures of his food, and really immerses you in the dish. Can you not taste this from wherever you are in the world?

It was as good as I remember.

text16.png

So, it is not likely that Zeke will ever be on a blind date. It is VERY likely, however that I would be approached for advice based upon my worldly wisdom that is beyond my years. If that advice was where I would start a blind date, it might be at a Thai food restaurant. If that person was in the west end of Toronto, I would suggest Thai Chef. Just be prepared for some authentic Asian beer in case they are out of Craft beer on tap. And order the Crispy Tamarind Beef!

Bon appetit.

text16.png

zekepickleman.jpg

SiQni9EsHGr8Y5VLHLJc9G3gkbopRRV913HoWUVm1pfBcCipGt6rHJyFAT5qDBYNQnWWw5hKYjn1PFYDjMYmmTSNM7yDmDvVq2dBtd7GGRu4bUzqw8tSfHU61HRn2Dj8XvNjKMFSLHQwLwYx2ZZf8JTMY28nB5rXLcPDAnRAdz1pVNDKHXKEqVz4RsE9jX1CtJ2LHa.png

Proud Manual Curator

for:

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnAudsvw6WDTpHnJA.png

innerblocks.jpg

Marlians

4gZTTLyoV1mt24zcGM8zcLoCk3M7uVzgLridqHu8v9Ru3o7UB9bcTDTw95hAKhsvaYyjEAJ94isUgEsbbrbDW7MmNZPv6qJCwSPW9FPXqrUiGhGtDPFLETWHLhCuQUtpxRZpqL8XckaeZdr7jpoGafarcXVaMEgtnrm9jhkmFMjzUsd7n2QPqqqorn8cqrUAvbJJkG5VqKd6Ln4SQV3omGco2J5B13GoaV9.jpg


Restaurant Information


Thai Chef Cuisine
score
233 Roncesvalles Ave, Toronto, ON M6R 2L6, Canada


The Thai Chef - A Zeke Tasteem Review!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Where to eat for my blind date?


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Good review! thank you for sharing, #tasteem-curation

Tasteem-Global team

well I am now hungry...

awesome post...

yummy!

Much appreciated! I was getting hungry again posting it.

Thai food is usually a good choice. All the thai restaurants near me also serve Tsingtao. Occasionally I can get Chang or Singha.

Tiger and Leo are a little harder to find.

Ah yes I have had Singha I think. I like to get Indian beers like Kingfisher sometimes when they are available.

I haven't had Kingfisher before. Actually I've never had Indian beer, unless you include IPA. 😄

good stuff pal. Looks like a pretty fancy place. When i tell my thai friends that a pad thai costs 350-400 B they will not believe such a thing is possible and presume i am making it up... haha. Great close up shots! .

EXTREME CLOSE UP!

I could probably live there for a couple days on what a Pad Thai would cost here. All relative I suppose with minimum wage at $14/hour.

Thanks for sharing- very informative and the pictures are great.

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Where to eat for my blind date?> Contest . Thanks to @zekepickleman, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!