You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The New State Sales Tax Laws Imposed on the Internet and the Consequences for my Customers

in #tax6 years ago (edited)

Wow. So that means if I was to be in affiliate sales of any kind, I would still have to calculate the sales tax from every single state other than where I was incorporated/registered in -- and send in potentially 49 other state tax returns every single time I do my taxes?

What does this mean for freelance writers?
Travel bloggers?

This basically means that if you can't calculate sales tax for the other 49 states on a yearly basis (or God forbid -- quarterly if you're self employed and do quarterly taxes) AND file the forms properly at that time -- you're the on the one the hook.

Basically, this means if you're self employed in the states, you really can only accept customers within your state.

UNFREAKING BELIEVABLE.