Team Australia new recruits 01/08/18: Who wants free footers?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

Hey, hey! It's time for another weekly update and in a surprise move, I've actually got a few people to introduce this week. I know! It's exciting. I still haven't posted any of my half-written, non Team Australia or Travel Digest posts I spoke of last week. They are still 'in progress' at this point. Sorry if you're waiting for them— @kubbyelizabeth, @scrawly. What can I say? I'm shit.

Feature photo

Today's photo was taken by Aussie nature photographers and filmmakers @bluebottlefilms. This eagle ray was snapped off Lady Elliot Island in Queensland. If you like it, please upvote it here.

Meet-ups

Adelaide

Last Thursday the mallsballers got together for their monthly meet-up. Fourteen were in attendance despite it being winter and Aussies frequently using this as an excuse not to go out.

You can read @wildflowerjessi's post here, @ursa's post here, and @minismallholding's post here.


Credit: @minismallholding

Team Australia footers

If you've been here a while then you know that @bearone is the creator of numerous 'team' footers floating around steemit including Team Australia. Previously she was asking for a donation to the @teamaustralia account for her time in making them. However, after some discussions with @quochuy, the process is now automated. This means you can get both footer styles for free after you've been verified and followed by @teamaustralia.

If you want them, please check either @quochuy's post or @bearone's post for details on what you need to do. And please give both of them an upvote for their hard work.

The usual community notices

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising Aussie creativity by curating quality content.

Check out the awesome Minnow Support Project (MSP). Details on how to join are here. Come say hi in the #teamaustralia chat room in PAL-Discord. It's fun and you will make new friends.

If you have spare witness votes, you should consider voting for @curie as well as the MSP witnesses, particularly @ausbitbank and @aggroed, who've a done a great job in getting the MSP project off the ground. Current active Aussie witnesses include @ausbitbank, @jackmiller, @thekitchenfairy, @quochuy and @bobdos.

Check out @anzub, the Australian and New Zealand upvote bot in the Australia-New Zealand Discord server. You need to register to receive upvotes and delegations are welcome. Speak to @jackmiller if you have questions.

Lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink, @mrsquiggle and/or @anzub (or any other bot you like) using Vessel. You can delegate to any of the MSP bots using this link.
 

Candidate 1

Name and bio

@amandaclarke is @mattclarke's wife and lives in Adelaide. She's a stay-at-home mum who's into cooking easy, simple, cheap meals and slow cookers.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"Jetty jumping is a great summer tradition in South Aus, however for me at a year 12 shindig took jetty jumping to a whole new level. Jetty jumped off Port Noarlunga Jetty at night, not into water but plunged straight onto the sand! Ended up in the ER with 10 stitches in my elbow. Ugh the things we do for boys when we're young and in love."

Ouch. This is why I don't jump off things.

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@steemymama is from Sydney. She works in educational leadership and really wants to visit New York.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I once worked in Shanghai, China as an expat English teacher. I have a degree in Education and yet I was told time and time again that someone with blond hair and blue eyes with NO degree in education has a better chance working in China than I do, simply because I am Asian. I wasn't expecting to experience racism in Asia, but that was how my journey as an expat began."

Interesting. Can't say I'm overly surprised by this. It seems like something they'd be into.

Candidate 3

Name and bio

@samryan is from Sydney. He's the alter ego of Australian crime writer and travel blogger Liam Saville. His name comes from a fictional character in his books.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I learnt to fly a plane and got my pilot's licence before I learnt to drive. As a kid I was obsessed with all things aviation, an obsession I blame on Top Gun."

Nice. Top Gun is a good movie with an awesome soundtrack. And Tom Cruise wasn't weird then either.

Candidate 4

Name and bio

@gmatthe2 is from the Northern Rivers, NSW. She's a community pharmacist and an origami enthusiast who would like to publish an origami book.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I was born with pitch black hair, had platinum blond hair as a toddler and now have honey brown hair as an adult."

We had a dog this happened to when I was growing up. She started off with black hair, then it went grey, then it went brown.

Candidate 5

Name and bio

@steemydave is @kaelci's fiance. He's from the US but lives in Kingaroy when he's in Australia. He's into gardening and landscaping and wants to write fiction.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I once drove a car off a cliff on accident and walked away without a scratch."

That sounds pretty lucky. What happened to the car?

Congratulations everyone, you're now part of Team Australia.
 

 

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness and our Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank.
  2. Send me your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself and teamaustralia tags to help boost your following. Use this handy guide if you don't know what to write.
  3. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London. You need to have a connection to Australia to join.
  4. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you! The more fun, the better.
  5. Regularly check the Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote/follow the content you like. You can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in steemauto. Instructions are here.
  6. Comment below or DM me in PAL-Discord that you want to join.

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates.
 
 


 
 

 
Gif by @justcallmemyth
Team Australia footer by @bearone
Page divider by @kristyglas

Sort:  

Hi @choogirl! I am interested in joining team Australia.

I wrote a little (long... way too long ) post about it. Cheers!

https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@dfinney/hi-australia-may-i-join-your-team

You're on my list for next week.

💚💛

Thank you! Appreciate that I was able to sneak in on the coattails of my marriage. 😉

Lol. It's valid.

Welcome everyone!! Great update Choo! 🍸🍹

and wow @amandaclarke, Im sorry girlfriend but, ABOUT TIME!!

Thank you Arly!

I was going to say... I can’t believe she wasn’t on here already!

It wasn't me, it was @footytips and @wildflowerjessi.
I tried my darndest :)

Welcome to teamaustralia to all the new members.

The footers are awesome, thanks heaps to @quochuy and @bearone for this great branding tool. Also, a little tip for those that may not know, you can make the footer a link to your profile quite easily. Just put the code for the image into the square brackets and then your profile link in parenthesis e.g. [banner code] (profile link) without the space.

Shorter footer.png

Thank you for the welcome. I would love to have a little origami club here on steemit. If you love to fold or are looking for an interesting project. I have a self designed spinning photo frame or if you are looking for an easy beautiful model I have linked how to fold butterflies and if you are interested in modular origami @ivan-g has explored several models successfully combining two of them into the one model.

You're welcome. I'm familiar with @ivan-g. He makes some cool stuff.

Don’t worry about your upcoming post, you have to cook them well until they’re good and ready.

And welcome to all the new Australians :). I hope all of you will enjoy yourself in this team administered by an awesome and hilarious girl. I’m still cackling reading what you wrote yesterday lol.

Hahaha. About punching that kid?

(For everyone reading this out of context, it's a drawing, not a real kid.)

Welcome to these new members. Upvote and resteem. To all: I am upvoting all comments on my posts. Good luck and happy steeming.

Welcome to the new members !

Great news about the footers!
Welcome new people:
@amandaclarke
@steemymama
@samryan
@gmatthe2
@steemydave

We look forward to your posts.

Thank You for the welcome to Teamaustralia. I look forward to posting and hope i can contribute a few that people even enjoy.

Welcome to the team!

Thanks for the warm welcome.

Welcome everyone 🤗🤗🤗🤗

Thanks for the shout choo! 💕

Wow, this is a wild group. Jumping into sand, escaping death, and the fun facts keep getting wilder. Welcome all and let’s give a hard kick so Choogirl will finish one of her many half written post, shall we!

I'll get there Kubby. Eventually. Don't worry.

A huge welcome to you all! 🤗

Thanks, Jessica. I just checked out your blog page, you have some interesting sounding articles there. I'm looking forward to having a read.

Yeah, her travel posts are pretty amazing.

Awesome - thanks @samryan I look forward to seeing more of your stories on my feed 😊 Ahh thanks @choogirl Love your beautiful self!

Thanks for the warm welcome. It’s nice to be part of a group when you're dipping your toes into something new.

You're welcome and it sure is.

I think we need a recruitment drive in Brisbane! We've already lost the State of Origin to those people south of the sunny state, can't afford to keep losing Steemit membership numbers to them as well (we know that no one can beat Adelaide though :D) :p

A very interesting group of people as usual, hoping to connect and find out more :)

I've got two Brissy people for this week. Feel free to recruit real life people!

Hi @choogirl I'd love to join TeamAus, Steemit is an interesting place so I'm glad my friend told me about you guys :)

I am based out of Brisbane so thankfully I can escape some of the cold.

Fun Fact - I was once travelling overseas to PNG (not that far overseas mind you haha) and we booked a flight to Wewak. Turns out the plane actually landed in Madang Airport instead. Took us nearly 2 days of hiking, hitchhiking and taxi's to get to our correct destination. Was a bit of an adventure.

Here is a link to my intro: https://steemit.com/charity/@benefaction/benefaction-introduction

welcome new strayans !!!! wonderful to have you all on board <3

@choogirl - amazing post, as usual but i have to admit that this is the first one i clicked because i saw FREE BEER possibility (i read the titled as FREE FOSTERS). i am ashamed. but honest. but also ashamed.

....

YOU GOT ME THIS TIME, CHOO

Hahaha. I don't think anyone wants free Fosters.

😰 😰 😰 😰 😰 😰

y....yeah. who could want free fosters! geez !

Welcome to all new members, I am your new follower,
I found your post interesting.

Hi @choogirl! I am interested in joining team Australia.

Is there a problem if I do not speak English well? What requirements would I need to have to join your community? Thanks!

You need to be Australian or living in Australia. From your profile, I see that you are neither. Sorry.

i would like to join too , but where i must start it? i am a new steemer

Btw!! @steemymama, @samryan, @gmatthe2

The @teamaustralia Christmas Party will be up in the Blue Mountains this year (next year will be in Adelaide!) would be great if you guys can make it.

https://steemit.com/lockedin/@bearone/it-s-official-teamaustralia-is-going-to-the-blue-mountains

We still have the granny flat available and perhaps a few beds. The person to speak to is @mattclarke.

I'll start auctioning rooms off again in September :)

Thank you @bearone I will have to say no this year, however I will be at the gaming convention pax in Melbourne in October if anyone else is going.

very nice please foolw me

I don't think so. You're a shitposter and comment spammer. Bye.