Team Australia new recruits 20/06/18—Adelaide FTW!

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

G'day, G'day! This week's post is going to be shorter than usual but this always happens when the steem price tanks—I struggle to find new Aussies to join. So even though I've reached out to a bunch in the past week, only two responded and they're both from Australia's steemit capital, Adelaide! But, there's also some other steemit stuff going on, so I think it's still worth doing a post today rather than rolling it over into next week.

Feature photo

Today's feature photo was taken by @itchyfeetdonica at the Glasshouse Mountains in Queensland. If you like it, please upvote it here

Meet-ups

Melbourne

@datascience has organised a meet-up for Sunday 24 of June, 3-5pm at the Local Tap House, St Kilda East. Word on the MSP-Team-Australia-street is that a few people are going this time, so I think it will be a good one. 

Interstate traveller @positiveninja will be in Melbourne for work a day later so a dinner is planned for Monday 25 June, 6-8pm at Upali's Sri Lankan Restaurant, Glen Waverley. 

Details of both here

Adelaide

End of month drinks are on again next Thursday 28 June, from 6pm at the Jade. Details here.

Credit: @izzydawn 

Tasteem

I know a bunch of you like writing restaurant reviews so @tasteem is probably something you want to know about. In its words: 

"Tasteem is a curating platform for the best restaurants you’ve experienced, through our weekly contests with new themes."

Info post here. It's got a decent delegation for upvoting too, so if reviewing eateries and taking pictures of food is your thing, get on it.

The usual community notices

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising Aussie creativity by curating quality content.

Check out the awesome Minnow Support Project (MSP). Details on how to join are here. Come say hi in the #teamaustralia chat room in PAL-Discord. It's fun and you will make new friends.

If you have spare witness votes, you should consider voting for @curie as well as the MSP witnesses, particularly @ausbitbank and @aggroed, who've a done a great job in getting the MSP project off the ground. Current active Aussie witnesses include @ausbitbank, @jackmiller, @thekitchenfairy, @quochuy and @bobdos.

Check out @anzub, the Australian and New Zealand upvote bot in the Australia-New Zealand Discord server. You need to register to receive upvotes and delegations are welcome. Speak to @jackmiller if you have questions.

Lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink, @mrsquiggle and/or @anzub (or any other bot you like) using Vessel. You can delegate to any of the MSP bots using this link

Candidate 1

Name and bio

@jeniwonders is a Canadian who's lived in Ethiopia and now lives in Adelaide. She's @wildflowerjessi's friend, went along to the last meet-up, and joined as a result.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I may be the very worst Canadian in that I thoroughly dislike the cold. My happy place is 30+Celsius! I rug up in the Adelaidian winter and always have a fire going!"

Hey, you don't have to explain that to me. Winter sucks. And Canada is beautiful. In summer. 

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@jordan.white306 is from Adelaide and a student taking a gap year. He's into photography, travel, reading poetry and novels, documentaries, and music.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I once put custard over my dinner at a restaurant thinking it was white-sauce. That was humiliating."

Lol. Gross. 

Congratulations mallsballers, you're now part of Team Australia.   

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness and our Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank.
  2. Send me your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself and teamaustralia tags to help boost your following. Use this handy guide by @teamsteem if you don't know what to write.
  3. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London. You need to have a connection to Australia to join.
  4. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you! The more fun, the better.
  5. Regularly check the Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote/follow the content you like. You can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in steemauto. Instructions are here.
  6. Comment below or DM me in PAL-Discord that you want to join.

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates.   



Gif by @justcallmemyth

Team Australia footer by @bearone

Page divider by @kristyglas

Sort:  

Welcome everyone!

And yeah i have been meaning to delegate to centerlink and teamcanada as well, thanks for the reminder!

Great work!

It's a friendly place @jeniwonders & @jordan.white306

So enjoy #teamaustralia and the support of the team :)

Welcome to all the new recruits we look forward to helping you grow, don't forget to join the discord channel and the curation trail.

We're all happy to help and the group has been great!

Enjoy your time on here!

Welcome new recruits! All members have been registered for dole payments now :)

#walltowallmallsballers
We have a twitter account now, too.
https://twitter.com/@mallsballers
Welcome Jeni and Jordan. Great to have you both onboard, hope to see you on Thursday :)

Thanks @choogirl! Great to be part of the team!

You're welcome! Glad you're here.

Welcome to the team.

The Adelaide group gets bigger. Welcome!

Hope your feeling better man :) #onceaballeralwaysaballer

Thanks mate, hopefully soon, I ended up getting a pretty bad sinus infection on top of my cold. damn winter!

Welcome!

It was great meeting you @jeniwonders at the meetup last month.

If you need any help @jordan.white306 don't hesitate to reach out mate :)

#mallsballers #adedlaideonthemap #teamaustralia

Lol! Good gif.

I'd like to join TeamAustralia. I think I have done everything right.

Can you link your intro post here and give me a fun fact about yourself please. Then I'll get on the next update.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@shaidon/2uzym9-introducing-myself-hi-i-m-shaidon

Fun fact: I once met Ice-T and the band 'Body Count' on King William Street back in 1993 and I showed them where Rundle Mall was. I got an autograph and everything as they were my favourite group at the time.
I'm still a fan to this day.

Welcome new crew!!! Again, can't make the meet ups - I'm in Bali. sorry to leave you all to melbourne weather -- but not much ;) xxx Have fun!

WElcome new friends. Glad to have you join teamaussie! Also, thanks for sharing about Tasteem, you and I should both do this. You always talk about finding vegan options and their quality you would bring an interesting perspective to the reviews.

Yeah I'm kinda shit at doing restaurant reviews. I never remember to take photos and beyond a paragraph about whether it was tasty or not, I don't have much to add.

Yay welcome everyone!!

It's so nice to see how you guys organize your team within your country. It's inspiring.

You've posted a very important one really like me in your post. Thank you very much for your important post

Excellent selection of a photo and stories)))! And what it is necessary to do to get to your top?