Team Australia new recruits update 03/09/17 PLUS Team Australia milestone: 200 members!

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

Big news today people!!!! This post marks the entry of the 200th member into Team Australia. 

Woot! Woot! 

How good is that?

I think it was only about three months ago that @sirknight had the idea in the first place, so we’ve definitely come along way since then. 

Personally, I love this community that we’ve created and I would like to thank everyone for their ongoing support of my posts. I am continuously amazed by the people and generosity that I see going on within Team Australia on steemit more generally. 

Next, Happy (belated) Father’s Day to all the dads out there. I know I’m late in Aussie time, but it’s still Sunday here so I’m counting my greeting as valid. 

I think @scooter77’s Father’s Day card was totally brilliant and it made me laugh. I don’t know if he’s rocking the dad bod or not, but I love how little kids have no filter and just call things as they see them. 

Well I’ve got tomorrow off. Apparently it’s Labor Day or something in the US (I still haven’t worked out their public holidays). 

I think I might try and do some more pool crashing. Last time I went to Trump Tower (which has an awesome pool) with my friend Jade. The Hilton however, is a lot closer and way easier to get into. We went for a coffee there other day and the pool is beautiful. 

I NEED to spend some time here. My shit tan needs topping up and this is the place I want to do it.   

I don’t actually have a lot to else to talk about today. Mostly cos I’ve been spending too much time in Discord! I know, I know, I’m always talking about it, but that’s because it’s really fun. Plus, we are starting to see a few new faces in the Team Australia chat room, and now the Canadian invasion has also started, so that’s mixing things up. 

Come in and say hi if you haven’t already.     

 

A word from our sponsors

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising and rewarding creativity within Team Australia. He will also submit the most worthy posts to @curie, which would result in a massive upvote if you can tap that gravy train.

You can support Team Australia members by following the centerlink curation trail in Streemian. Instructions on how to do that are here.

Don't forget that @centerlink is busy putting Aussie-battler tax dollars to work in the form of dole payments for posts, as well as showcasing Australia's most worthy dole recipients.

The Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank has created the @discordia bot, which you can use to increase your upvote moolah. Some of the proceeds will support @centerlink so give it a try.

Of course, also check out the awesome Minnow Support Project. Details on how to join are are here and here. Come say hi in the Team Australia chat room in Discord. It's fun and you can make new friends!   

And lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink and/or @mrsquiggle (or any other bot you like) using Vessel.  

 

Candidate 1 

Name and bio 

@nickmorphew is from the Gong (or Wollongong for the non-Aussie readers). He is a teacher and loves teaching his students new and interesting things. For example, he recently taught 11 and 12 year olds about cryptocurrency, which apparently was a bit of a nightmare. (But good on you for trying @nickmorphew. I bet if you got through to even one of them, they’ll be thanking you in the years to come). He also says you can’t worry too much if the classroom is full of yawns since the kids might just have gone to bed really late.  

@nickmorphew is very concerned about environmental issues and says his conscience is often weighed down by thoughts of how to reduce his impact on other beings and the planet. He is therefore the proud owner of a Mitsubishi iMiEV electric vehicle and enjoys debating the principles of veganism. (Yay, another vegan. I like you already Nick.) 

Fun fact 

“I used to have my face plastered all over local buses and Newcastle airport as I was a student ambassador for Newcastle University.” 

That is cool. One of my friends was the Queensland University of Technology (QUT) poster boy for a while. Apart from being on tv, his face was all over Central Station, which was really odd. I felt like I knew a celebrity. 

Candidate 2 

Name and bio 

@necromortis is from Adelaide. (I really think there needs to be a meet-up in Adelaide. There’re lots of you now, and in typical Adelaide style, you all seem to know each other.) He is interested in videography, gaming, current affairs, and driving around for no reason. He also enjoys spending lots of time with his family.  

@necromortis is really into iPhones and is getting increasingly more excited for the release of the iPhone whatever (I’m Android). He says he can't wait to spend >$1200.00 on a shiny new device that he does not need. 

Fun fact 

“I can skull a pint in under four seconds!” 

Wey-hey! Now THAT is the kind of fun fact I’m talkin’ about. I would very much like to see this. Please make a video. 

Candidate 3 

Name and bio 

@paddygsound is from Tassie. He describes himself as a writer and thinker. He says he connects easily with people and is good at finding out what makes them tick. @paddygsound found steemit by accident and thought he would give it a go since he has been looking for something new in his life, but doesn't know what that is.  

@paddygsound enjoys food, travelling and just experiencing the world. He plans to write about his travels and the places he would like to go, as well as things that pop into his head. 

Fun fact 

“I am currently owned by a cat that seems to have taken over about four houses around where I live. It is one of the most spoilt things I have ever seen, as it basically goes from one house to the next looking for food and pats.” 

And this is why I am a dog person. 

Candidate 4 

Name and bio 

@lunaticmoon is an amateur artist living in Sydney. He wants to improve his skills and is therefore using steemit to gain critique and feedback on his artwork. @lunaticmoon describes himself as a generalist in creative media, meaning he can do digital, traditional pen and paper, 3D, pixel art, and more. 

@lunaticmoon’s goal is to develop tutorials on how to draw. He has already posted one on his blog for making pixel art. He is dedicated to learning and sharing his knowledge as much as possible. 

Fun fact 

“I can run 2km constantly in 5-8 minutes.” 

Wow, that is fast. Are you doing any competitions?

Candidate 5 

Name and bio 

@webcoop is from Mandurah, which, if like me you have never heard of, is 75km south of Perth. His job however, is in Kalgoorlie, where he works as a shift maintenance technician (aka grease monkey) in a nickel processing plant. 

@webcoop was introduced to steemit by his gloating brother (who? Is he in Team Australia?) who basically said “Look at me, look at me, I’m on steemit and I’m getting paid heaps by posting and commenting.” Since then, @webcoop has been consistently writing some really interesting and all-to-familiar posts about the trials and tribulations of working in Australia’s mining industry.  

Fun fact 

“We love game of thrones so much we named our first child Winterfell Snow.” 

Hahaha. If that’s true, that’s awesome. Respect.

@sirknight, please add these new members to Team Australia.  

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness @ausbitbank.
  2. Regularly check the  Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote the content you like. 
  3. Follow and upvote existing members of @teamaustralia who you share a common interest with. Alternatively, you can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in Streemian. Instructions are listed here.
  4. Comment below or DM me on steemit chat or Discord that you want to join.
  5. Link your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself tag to help boost your following. You can also follow this handy guide written by @teamsteem.
  6. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London.  
  7. If you’re not Aussie tell me why you should be a Team Australia ambassador. 
  8. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you run a successful business, or you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you!

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates unless there is a lot of interest, in which case I will try and post sooner. 

Team Australia banner by @bearone

Page dividers by @kristyglas

First image source

Sort:  

Excellent job Choogirl - as always.

200!
Fantastic!!

It has been a busy 3 months

A great big 'WELCOME' to the new members - I will add you all to the register tonight.

SirKnight.

Thank you SK. This is one job, that after 3 months, I still actually like. 👍

Woo this is awesome thank you! I will definitely have to make a video showing this fun fact off. Also, you should really switch to iPhone :)

I'll upvote that video but I'll never switch to iPhone. 😁

Thanks for the add @choogirl.

My bro is @foovler and yes he is with #teamaustralia as well. He is the one who told me to get in touch with you. He is kinda my guide here in steemit, gives me direction every now and then especially if he can see that I am all over the place.

My daughter is actually named Winterfell Snow. Daenerys was other choice which is better than Khaleesi. But we went for Winterfell Snow.

Thank you very much to all for your warm welcome.

You're welcome. Also @gohba.handcrafts would like to you officially join the Team Aus chat in Discord. Link above in the post. @foovler is in there already.

Great job as always @choogirl and all of Team Australia is glad to read you still enjoy it.

Welcome to the team...

@nickmorphew
@necromortis
@paddygsound
@lunaticmoon
@webcoop

We look forward to reading more of your work at #teamaustralia

Secretary SirKnight
TEAM AUSTRALIA

All new members added and being voted by the little guy with the pencil. Welcome new members.

G'day to all the new members, I'm looking forward to reading your posts and getting to know you all. All the best.

Thanks Choo for presenting and approving these new members.

It appears to be my calling in life.

Then it must be my calling to cheer a choo on. Stay strong choo.

Lol! I like it.

Choo choo choo choooo... now that's what you call a steem locomotive!

Welcome to all the new members. I look forward to chatting to you all over on Discord.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by choogirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

cool post I really like your post very qualified I do not hesitate to me your vote and share your submissions. if you do not mind the silage visit and vote my submission

Follow me @imranroza

https://steemit.com/photograpy/@imranroza/ke-indahan-bunga-di-waktu-malam-201797t155432615z

I love that you do these post, GO TEAM AUSTRALIA!

Thanks Kubby. You're awesome.

You made it, @necromortis!
Oi Oi Oi!

Matt, I nominate you to round up all the South Aussies and do a meet-up!

I recruited holoz0r and he just picked up the recruitment baton and sprinted off with it :)
@O07 just landed, too, but he's still working on his intro.
200 Aussies though hey?
Top effort all round, everyone :)

Thank you @choogirl for that awesome introduction to #teamaustralia

You are very welcome!

Good job on getting all together.

Thank you. It's always nice when the Canadians stop by.

Over 200 members wow! That's so impressive, really a great thing we have here. Welcome to all the new members and enjoy the pool crashing choogirl.

I know! It's pretty cool.

I always love a good pool crashing session Pheli. Panama hotels have GREAT pools.

Another fun fact about me.. I'm a spelling fiend. It's "Wollongong" tehe.

Glad to be a part of the #teamaustralia mob and really appreciate the extra followers I noticed jumped on board the @nickmorphew train!

For those nerdy geeky fantasy adventure readers (you love D&D, it's our secret), you'll be happy to see my latest installment of "Adventures in Elowyn Glade" pop into your feed in less than 30 minutes from now.. but who's counting. This is the eighth issue and I'm VERY PROUD of what I've achieved with my writing (and it has nothing to do with the number of followers, $'s, views or comments). It's ALL about the quality. At the end of the day, if my writing is terrible or poorly thought out, I'm the one with MY NAME to it. And THAT'S embarrassing.

Thanks again, #teamaustralia !

Oh, you're one of those people! 😁

That said, I've fixed it now since I don't want it to be forever wrong on the block.

Congrats on your story. I did read some of that. Will have to check out the rest.

Welcome and congratulation to Australian team. Hope always great and more bigger.

The Canadians are getting in on it now too??! 😱 Well.. they're not so bad I guess. I wonder how long it'll be before the SPANISH ARMADA.

Also sry I've been so awol it's been maaaaad lol.

You are welcome back any time @oliviagrey

Great post!

What is the easiest way to find and follow teamaustralia members? I have just been doing a search using that tag and seeing what comes up.

Thanks @seajai. I haven't forgotten you either - you're on the next one.

You can see all official members here: https://steemit.com/@teamaustralia/followed

Welcome new members - everyone will be receiving @centerlink benefits now :)

Welcome to Team Australia!!

Awesome work to all helping out with team australia!

Good to know that @mrsquiggle is submitting to @curie also. Over my 2 months here I've had 3 posts picked up by @curie, and they're the 3 that did the best, so very useful when it happens. Hope that more get to enjoy the love from that curation trail.

Welcome to all the new members

Oh that's awesome. I'm glad you've benefited. Sadly my rep is too high now.

What is the cap, as I think I'm too high now also, with my last pick up putting me to Rep 53

Not sure. But you might be.

Hello! I'm still waiting for my #teamaustralia membership booklet? The kangaroo is my second fav animal after the moose and I've also had vegimite once and was able to keep it down. Should I mention I've watched all the Crocodile Dundee movies and I'm a big fan of Hugh Jackman..what else is there? I'll wait for your reply then see where we go from there 😐

We have a token Canadian. Not sure if we can let another one in. However, your bribe helps so I might be able to pull some strings. 😁

Thank you heaps for introducing me ahhh

You're welcome. Sorry I did win you the SP 😟

Don't be too harsh on yourself choogirl really, you're doing more than enough for me really!

WOW that's quite a few new members. Awesome stuff! :D

Keep up this awesome work. Talk soon.

Thank you @enazwahsdarb!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @goldenarms.

Hi @choogirl, thank you for the invite. I'd love to join if you're happy to have me. It'll be great to get to know some more Aussies one here. Here's my intro post: https://steemit.com/smallholding/@minismallholding/introducing-our-miniature-smallholding
Fun fact: I love my rooster so much I trained him not to crow.

@tippy vote

Hi @choogirl I'm under strict instructions from wifey - @shellyduncan to come over here and nominate myself for teamaustralia.. and it's best for my health if I do as instructed haha. Have voted for ausbitbank - followed some people in TA and here is my intro post https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@cryptoandzen/intro-post-i-finally-made-it-to-steemit
FunFact: I love paddleboarding and getting out in the surf - Sharks don't worry me. Did you know vending machines kill 4 times as many people as sharks per year? I'm more scared of vending machines (I also love fun facts)

Hi @cryptoandzen. Yes, Shelly has kept me informed. You're on my list. I'll let you know when you've been introduced.

Hi. I was invited to join Team Australia a while back and have finally decided I should get on board if I'm still welcome. My Steemit pages are mostly based on my interest in nature, photography and video with the occasional off topic post. I have been living in Burnie, Tasmania for the last eleven years but have also lived in Tamworth, Amidale, Uralla, Sydney as well as 11 years in Scotland. I was actually born in Scotland, came here when I was 2 and then spent 9 years back in Scotland later in life. I eventually came back to Tassie for the warmer weather :-) My original introduction post is here. Fun facts are hard to come by :-) In my pursuit of nature and the outdoors, myself and two others once broke down in a remote area of the Blue Mountains. It took us two days to walk out with only 2 bread rolls and half a billy can of water between us. I'm not so so sure that that was fun though :-)

Excellent. You're on my list @mostly.nature. I'll let you know when you've been introduced.

Hey @choogirl i'm keen as a bean to join #teamaustralia
I did all the bits mentioned above and am looking forward to getting to know some other fellow Aussie Steemians!

A fun fact about myself would be that i come from a family of 10 kids - I'm the eldest brother and i have 5 brothers and 4 sisters!

I think most else is covered on my profile and in the intro post. Happy to elaborate on anything though if need be :)

This is a link to my intro post:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@benfenson/gday-steemit

Just drop by @choogirl after meeting you in discord, mspaudience the other night. Following you now.

Thanks Hope. I hope you got some sleep before the sun came up!

lol maybe, maybe not....

200 members! Great to hear. Welcome to all the new members. So proud of Team Australia.

@choogirl got you a $1.26 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@choogirl got you a $1.26 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!