You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RedNecks In National Parks: Its Not All Pretty in the Aussie Bush

Ugggghhhh...this took me back to when I was 15 years old with my friend and his parents on The big island of Hawaii. We were all in a camper and driving around the island sleeping wherever. It was my first trip anywhere wild and exotic. One night at a beach park down the end of a steep dark wet valley things got just like you described. His parents ended up driving out late that night. It was awful for us kids not really knowing what was going on. It wasn't the only time on that trip. A couple of times we drove into little coastal towns that were really locals only! The tension from his mom and dad would just rip right through me when this happened.

Drunk rude dangerous young men... they are everywhere and always regenerating it seems. That Hawaii story was in 1973. Right now there are drunk guys down at the end of my street in the beach parking lot...

Sort:  

That must have been a moment where you lost a little innocence! I think about those boys and how theirs has been destroyed by asshole fathers.

It really speaks for a culture, doesn't it, that allows their boys to end up like this.