Japanese tea ceremony club

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

I have been living in Australia longer than i grew up in Japan. I always miss my culture and tring not to forget where i am from. I appriciate my culture more when im living in Australia. i started japanese tea ceremony since i was 12yrs old. Tea ceremony is very deep. Lots of rules and needs lots of practices. Today, it was a first tea ceremony for the year. ( we usually do this in January but our friends were away in January. So, its today).
We have made ourselves look pretty (wearing kimono which is our traditional costume) and made this event big. Its called hatsugama (初釜).
image
This is me. im performing tea ceremony.

image
This was home made japanese sweet which we eat just before the tea gets served.

image
This was our lunch. They were almost all home made. Some ingredients, we had to buy from Sydney or Japan.

It was all day event. Im living in tropical rainforest region therefore, its not suitable to wear many layers of Japanese silk kimono all day but it was very ni
ce to have a good time with our Japanese friends 😀
image

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your cultural practice. Tea is a important social event for many Australians, myself included but we don’t have a formal ceremony.

Your welcome 😁 I love tea ceremony because i get to eat sweets with green tea 🍵lol