Day 2 Ramblings

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

So as I mentioned yesterday, I'm going to try and make a post every day - maybe after a while i might figure out some sort of format and structure, but until then, i'll just be rambling.

So as I mentioned yesterday, I work in IT Consulting. I've been at my current client site for over a year now, and my time is soon coming to an end. It's quite a small office, though the company is a bit of a household name.

To put it simply, it hasn't been the most enjoyable role I've had. the company is very archaic in their way of thinking (for a household name, they're sinking quite quckly), and their IT landscape is a proper mess. It's a wonder how they still even function. So I haven't really enjoyed my role - and along the way there's been some minor issues that I've had with my manager - I say minor, because they didn't really bother me too much, but being the nature of consulting, when these things get back to your employer, they tend to blow things out of proportion.

Again, nothing was really major, but it has just left a sour taste in my mouth. My employer is quite a small company, they were very small when I joined, though I knew the managing director and a few of the long timers. They've recently brought in some new managers who I guess are trying to make a name for themselves and in doing so they rubbed me up the wrong way. A colleague of mine resigned lately for similar reasons, so I know it's not just me...

So whilst I serve out the notice period with my current client, my employer is supposed to be trying to arrange my next client. I haven't yet heard anything from them - but in the meantime, I think it's time I seeked my own client. I'm thinking I want to start contracting for myself, forego the security of permanent employment in favour of a more attractive day rate.

It kind of seems silly to go for less secure employment while I have a baby on the way, but we could do with the extra money. Being down to one income is quite difficult - my wife hasn't had any stable employment since we had our first child so most of the last couple of years has been playing catch up when she's working, or trying to keep our heads above water when she's not. It's quite a frustrating life.

Going down the contracting path I can probably earn an extra 30-40%, and if I take my day rate through a registered company I can distribute some of the income to her and take the tax benefit. It's not the way we should really try and avoid taxes, but the way things are going these days there isn't really much other option.

So for now my focus is looking for work, while I go through the motions of the last few weeks at work.. and as for my current employer, who knows what'll happen there. If they find me a decent client that I feel is really good for my career I'll stick it out, but I'll probably have to ask them for more money once i've gained some leverage at the client site.

I'll likely be down to 1 income for the next 2-3 years, so I guess the pressure is really on. And yeah, I'm feeling it...

anyway that's enough from my tonight - not all my posts will be about money, work, and the stresses of life :)