Some of the Maple Collection

in #teambonsai2 years ago

Here are some of my trees. All are Amur Maple except one. The pictures are rather poor as the group pictures focused on the wall behind. I will try to do better when I publish pictures of the Pine group.

All of the trees here are but a year in the pots shown. The ones in big black pots are in progress and awaiting a final pot, which will not be cheep to acquire.

20220731_131849_HDR.jpg
The guy at the bottom is an experiment. It is not working and I have decided to change the plan. It will look very interesting when I re-arrange it. (~10years old)

20220731_131902.jpg
The one on the right is the only Silver Maple shown. It is a weed where I live and I have decided to see what can be done with it. Chopped out of the ground and transplanted a month ago, it is already new growth. This tree was a triple trunked tree and had been in a ~6 inch pot for 8 years. It had a very large group of roots out of the pot and had to be chopped back. I think that the Silver Maple will prove to be a durable subject with very small leaf size once maintained.

20220731_131922_HDR.jpg
The bigger one in the middle of this picture is the tree recovered as detailed here: https://hive.blog/team-bonsai/@sckoarn/a-recovery-project-amur-maple

It is doing well, and is staying green which is always a good sign. Once some new growth happens on the branches further down towards the trunk, I will be cutting it back. 3-4 inches off those branches you can see. (~10 years old) The little rectangular pot with the rock and tree is two years old. It lived through the winter and now as it branches out I can get it's height down.

20220731_131931.jpg
The tree in the middle with no lower branch is 10+ years old, recovered from some over grown Amur I had a few years back. Want to make a canopy style, and next year will get into a decent pot. There are a couple 2 year old, root over rock, and some other recovered in the small square pots in front.

20220731_131956.jpg
A closer view of some of the trees on the left. The center one in the off white pot only has 1/4 of living bark up the back side of this view. All of them have been trimmed but as you can see they all need some work and time.

20220731_132009.jpg
This one is really nice. It is again ~10 years old and has been in this pot for about one year. It was transplanted into that pot last spring.

I will be posting a collection of Pine next. The local species have some interesting results when bonsai is applied.
Best ...

Sort:  

Ten plus years will do wonders on a small tree! They all look great! I might have killed one of my most promising specimens, a tree I had nearly 5 years. I also have been meaning to pay the pictures of the bonsais I saw at a botanical garden. (I may have "found" some more seeds to a tree there, one that is extremely similar to the one I might have killed.)