This week in Ed's garage: Honda CRX. And breaking expensive stuff.

in #teamcanada7 years ago (edited)

This week I'm doing some repairs and maintance to a friends car. It's a 1988 Honda CRX si.

20170822_212228.jpg

20170822_212353.jpg

The car now has a B18C1 engine from an Integra GS-R. It has about 70 horsepower more than the original engine.

20170822_213724.jpg

The car is really low and one of the previous owners smashed the transmission on something, so I'm replacing it with this LSD(limited slip differential) unit.

20170822_212135.jpg

Saftey first.

20170822_215658.jpg

Heres me standing on this extension bar on my breaker bar trying to loosen the axle nuts. The nut was also heated with a small propane torch(it doesnt really get hot enough). See the arch?

20170823_212812.jpg

I weigh about 180lbs so there is a few hundred pounds of leverage here.
This was the result:

20170824_125445.jpg

My very expensive Snap-on tool didn't like the abuse.

Tune in next time too see how Ed's going to figure a way to get this car apart.

@edthecanadian 🇨🇦

Sort:  

Great post and pics, Ed! Please keep up these kind of posts, we need more stuff like this on steemit. Big thumbs up.

I don't know much about snap-on, but sorry to hear about the tool. >_<

This post received a 3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @trending! For more information, click here!

i thought snap-on was indestructible! that engine looks sweet :)

It's the second time I've broken the same tool.

I love crxs! Not crazy bout the color. Hey atleast snapons guaranteed for life right? Man u got a tough but fun job. I wished u lived closer I could use a good trustworthy mech

I keep singing "we all live in a yellow crx" over and over and over and over...

This post has received a 2.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @edthecanadian.

Air wrench !

Part two is up now with the solution!

Hey edthecanadian thanks for letting me know!