Cross Canada Trekking - Part 18 [Splooshin' down in the Nanaimo Pod 😧 ]

in #teamcanada β€’ last year (edited)

Writing this post is making me want a Nanaimo bar really badly. Not much exciting that day. We had checked into our little RV park in Nanaimo. It was okay, other than it was another RV park. There are worse places in the world for sure, but there are nicer too. We drove a few clicks to get to the core of Nananimo and walk about in this park and along a pier. And See Nanaimos Pod. During the walk, I took off for a bit on my own and found some random trash fiesta, it was like a discarded car and junk warehouse junkyard. Not sure but it was some type of underground parking is the only thing I could think of, but it must have been from a long time ago because all the cars were in such rough shape - I am talking completely mangled. I am not sure how they all got there is such terrible shape. None of them looked incredibly modern, they may have been sitting there for decades. I would be curious to know more about the story here in this strange derelict trash storage vault.

Not sure if Nanaimo was completely my vibe, I mean we spent about a week there and I still felt like I was recuperating but the sleeps still weren't that great. There was some interesting times though for sure, and we had just landed on Vancouver Island, which some people consider to be a country all of it's own! Somebody told me this and I laughed, and they were like "no! I'm serious - it's like a different place here! plus it's just beautiful!" and they were certainly right about that. There was a lot to see, I as always wish I could have seen a bit more of it. BUT IT IS WHAT IT ISβ„’ Like they like to say. But this is some photos from our first day in Nanaimo on that trip.

Clicking on a pic will load a separate high resolution copy


Diesel the big diggle doggle and the window screen he destroyed



Nanaimom


Kaya on the hunt for food and fun



Seaweed mania, as far as as the eye could see



Some random person talked to my mom for a long time and I took a pic



This interesting Nanaimo pirate statue




The Vax Wars were raging hard in Nanaimo




This bird contemplates the totality of existence



the bird then flies off with the secrets of the universe



The doges they are hunger



onward we plow



we gon' take off real soon now y'hear



this bird is on the pier prowl



salty rusty redlight district



we have landed



rusty crusty pier cleats



distancevision with the cloudfunk swag



rockutonics



the decay that is nanimo



the base of a homeless



underground trash fortress



nature is surely moving in slowly but surely



gotta get them liquids



holes yearn and gasp for air



discarded and tagged by some punks, who would have thunk



A nice boxspring yearns to be used again



Leaves protrude from their home in this alien landscape



better stay out of sight, hidden if you can



The retarded robot says dzien dobry in a galactic space tone



the observers



the trash certainly went through a tube



Wau Waht a sweet promenade plaque for the late queen with a splotch fairly resembling an eviloid skull figure leering at you



You don't want to go through here



The month of June was popping in Nanaimo Town



The Tendrils probed the air



Along the waters edge it was certainly an olfactory experience


thank you for stopppin by! YEAH BABY

Sort: Β 

I really like the part where you say the following in the writing: "There are worse places in the world for sure, but there are also better ones". Which is true, but just by looking at the last photograph you can see the beauty of Nanaimo Park.

Impeccable place and photography. amazing cute dogs 😍 Love it!! so adorable.
Animals make me so happy. :3

Haha thanks @ykdesign. If you think those are cute(which they are) just wait, I got a lot more cute puppy pics coming soon because we just got a new puppy so it's full on dog mania

I had to look that one up..

image.png

ooh, looks sooooooooooo yummy! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‹

:P Diesel in the first pic is like..

WHAT?

i like the happy pirate!

Yeah @chinito I forgot that not everybody knows what I am talking about 🀣, but yes they are really very good, if you ever get the chance you have to try it.

πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‰πŸ˜‹ yea, that looks like just what I would get..

The truth is that this Island is different, apart from being a very beautiful place, how well you describe it in your publication, and the photographs also prove it. I hope you have the fortune to come back and enjoy more of such a beautiful natural paradise.

Yeah, the island is really a sweet place. Nanaimo too, even if it wouldn't be where I'd choose to live if I was a resident.

and what you don't like about Nanaimo to be a full time resident of that beautiful Island

I would love to be a resident of the island for sure, but Nanaimo didn't seem to call out to me as much as some other places. I know some cool people though, but first impressions of the city itself were okay, it just wouldn't be my first choice if I had anywhere in the world to live. But certainly it's still very nice, I'm not saying it's not πŸ˜€

but I could give it a chance and enjoy life in a place as special as that

Absolutely, it's quite a place, there are few like it!!! There are some other areas that I like however as well though πŸ€“ Maybe I can write about them too one day