You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 66.4%. Ireland's Vote to Legalise Abortion Passes by Huge Majority. What This Means to Me.

in #teamgirlpowa6 years ago

I was really surprised by the strong yes result myself.

While I thought the yes vote would win I thought the result would be much closer.

It shows how much Ireland has changed over the last two decades.

Very few people under the age of 35 voted no around the country. So the people most concerned were more or less unanimous in their decision.

No doubt savita's case was instrumental in bringing this referendum to the people.

Sort:  

I know. I was very struck by how the result was a reversal of the 1983 vote to insert the Eighth Amendment into the Constitution in the first place. A two thirds majority! I couldn't believe it.