Paper Children: A reflection on Parenting and Origami

in #teamgood6 years ago

Parenting is an art.
Likewise, so is origami.

You take the basics,
and you fold.
Then you give up.

You chuckle to yourself and fold again.
You sit,
and you learn.

Parenting is much like origami.
Gentle but firm.
Patient yet persistent.

In order to craft something beautiful.
A child.
Or maybe, just a lotus.

georgy-rudakov-422531-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Georgy Rudakov on Unsplash

Authors Note: I've taken up origami again. I was a bit too stubborn and restless to do it as a child. While folding, I had a thought. Parenting is quite like origami.

I don't have any children and I'm not planning to, but the poem did make me chuckle a bit.

Sort:  

if parenting is like origami

then bull-riding could be like tic-tac-toe (can only get X or O, stay on or get off)

Oh, this is awesome! I like the analogy between parenting and origami, and you expressed yourself beautifully! You definitely need to write more often! 😊

Thanks kitty! This poem was a surprise. I wrote it on the fly.

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP