The Weekend Projects | Updates on the latest Steemit Bootcamp, smartsteem, and the Newbie Resteem Initiative

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

The more committed you are to Steemit, the more involved you become. I wasn't always this active. Let alone posting on a daily basis.

For the past 30 hours, I've been quiet, with fewer posting. Not because I had nothing else going on, but there are a few exciting projects that I'll be embarking on and have joined in the process…

 

  1. The Steemit Ladies Bootcamp at SITEC (24th & 26th of Jan 2018) had just ended with more #teammalaysiababes jumping on the bandwagon.
  2. This upcoming Saturday on Feb the 3rd, @maverickfoo together with @bitrocker2020 (and myself assisting) will be at NeoOne Training Centre at TTDI, running the Steemit for Trainers and Coaches event. Sign up now if you haven't.
  3. Over the weekend, I had the privilege of joining @smartsteem as their moderator (thanks to @therealwolf) and appointed as one of the founding members for the #newbieresteemday initiative, spearheaded by @davemccoy and @mudcat36.

 


 

 

I didn't become active overnight on Steemit. When I first started on this platform, I wasn't entirely involved with the community.

I remembered that my registration and approval was in Sept 2017 but I only became active towards the end of 2017.

My trigger point was this post — I wanted to raise as much as I can for the stray animals before Christmas.

At that time, I was trying to engage with as many people as possible for the fundraising, so that the animals can enjoy a comfortable, tummy-filled holy-day.

Over time, my first initiative got the ball rolling with a gradual growing number of followers. It wasn't at a rapid pace, but it's good organic growth.

So if you're feeling despair and your lifeline on Steemit doesn't look too promising at the moment — remember to always focus on bringing value to the community and the rest will follow in place.

No need for upvote for an upvote or follow for follow kinda Insta-BS. I always believe that the more you give, the more you'll get in return (not necessarily in monetary form but a big community support can go a long way!)

 

Like a friend once told me (not in verbatim),

 

There's just so much you can do to get upvotes (buying bids, resteem, etc.), you'll still need the community for their support.

 

True to that @zord189. And those words etched in my mind until today.

 

Do it for fun, and everything else will fall into place.

 

PS: If you haven't heard about the #NewbieResteemInitiative, read this and this. On top of that, our latest Steemit for Trainers is not confined to only coaches or trainers. If you're interested to find out more about Steemit, you can still join us by registering here.

 

Image credit: All public domain images are taken from Pexels, unless stated otherwise.
 
 

These days I mostly write on Steemit.
I still have my portfolio and personal sites— virtuallydebbie.com and debbieang.com.
But these sites will eventually redirect you to my Steemit blog.
Well, what can I say. If it’s good stuff, you can’t get enough of it :)
Follow me and I'll take you through my unpredictable journey— filled with wilderness, curiosity, and randomness.

PS: Join #steemitbloggers to unite with other bloggers and #sfg #steemgigs to partake in the freelancers' clan. Also, check out @kristyglas amazing divider below. Support her work by sharing as she puts in tremendous effort into creating pretty dividers for Steemians.

Sort:  

Hey @deborism,

just saw the post. Thank you for your work as Moderator! You're doing an extraordinary Job!

Send you a few votes through smartmarket, because I sadly used up all my Voting-Power already - but it will be filled up again soon :)

Hi @therealwolf, always my pleasure and thanks so much for being supportive :)

Superb @deborism! Contribute to the community is always the best thing to do!

Yes 💪🏼 and thanks for your undying support too :) @kokuryo

Hey @deborism! Thanks so much for this post!! I'm biased because I'm part of the #newbieresteemday (just did my resteem days yesterday and today:)...and I totally agree with you about becoming a member of this community first and foremost; the rest totally falls into place. I just joined near the end of December and am still in awe of the kindness, helpfulness and sense of inclusion I get when genuinely engaging with people here :)

And I see you're a part of Steemit Bloggers....me too:) Another great community!! Cheers!

Hi @lynncoyle1 so good to meet you here. thanks for connecting. technically i'm still a newbie in that initiative so i can definitely do with more tips from a senior like you :) i have already kept you in my circle. also is your steemit handle the same in discord? let's connect there as well :D

Congratulations @deborism!! More random shower thoughts because got more inspiration now? :P

Thanks @aaronmcheong. More random shower thoughts? Not sure enough of time to shower or not also.. haha kidding ya! But sure it's coming back sometime later stay tuned LOL

Wow! Awesome activities lining up. Very true, sometimes by giving we actually are gaining more in return. I didn't know about the event on this Saturday. But then I will be working this Saturday, there's a concert going on. Send my regards to everyone there! Have a great time! With love 💕💖 💓 💗

Owh @elizacheng is ok... there's always next <3 see ya real soon xoxo

Yes yes. See you soon!

Ahh.. all the good stuff happens in KL..haha.. I also did a steemit intro course to the community of steemians here in kota kinbalu. If only east and west malaysia were not separated by sea, would gladly join the steemit for trainers and coaches event.

Eh don't say like that bahhh :) @alvinauh good stuff comes from you 💪🏼
we trust in you to build the community there ... see you real soon ;)

Looks like you're doing very well with the curation on and off the platform. I should be doing more as well.

Awww so nice

:) @jacinta.sevilla you're not too bad yourself. I see that you're also a linguist? Nice to meet you :D *from another fellow linguist.

Yea i am. My course in my university. Am a polyglot too lolz.
Very nice to meet you ☝️🍀✨❣️♥️

It's great to see how Steemit has grown tremendously in such a short period of time. Awesome job to everyone involved in new initiatives.

Thanks @coloringiship. With seniors support like your self, this community is on its speedy way to the top :D Kudos to you too <3

Thanks for the great post @deborism!

Thanks for commenting :) @kimmiecfields

I'm becoming more and more active on here myself. I really do enjoy the outreach this community had and the amount of true engagement you can get on a personal level. Excited to be here, and to support everyone! Best of luck with your projects, thank you for sharing.

This initiative has been a successive one so far and it will sooner or later be on the trending page. @deborism.