Diaries of a ice skater mom.....#8 ....A new sport??

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Today's blog is not about ice skating . Nor is it about my son. But it does have something to do with ice ....naturally, abuden?? . It also has to do with a broom and a stone !! Any guesses???

Screenshot_20180117-145214.jpg

Pretty obvious? For those who are uninitiated with curling, this is what you do with the stone.

Screenshot_20180117-145217.jpg

Curling is the newest kid in town. In fact we just completed the very first intro course here and were introduced to floor curling as well.

Why curling?? Well, I love ice...and here is a sport that do not require you to skate . I am terrible at skating so this seems the perfect solution. Also it is played mostly by old people ( or so I thought , therefore you don't need to be very fit and nimble) and you only need to shove the stone towards the bulls eye and your team mates will sweep the path. ( My kakak at home will be very happy when I s the art practising how to sweep ! ) Easy peasey, right??

Nothing can be further from that. I survived ( just barely) with a bruised knee, an almost sprained pinky and very sore quad muscles!
Minutes into the class, I quickly discovered that ice is indeed very very slippery, especially with the'slider' under the left foot and that lunge to push the stone out looks much easier than done. ( That's where I got my bruised knee). And the getting down and up is actually very good for my abs !! ( that's why they hurt, too ). And ya, I have muscles in places I didn't know I have !

Anyway, I thoroughly loved the ice sessions and the floor curling too! Floor curling is easier but it involves the same strategic planning and provides equally as much fun and excitement !
20180117_162143.jpg

Now that Malaysia is in the Winter Olympics, dare we hope to include another sport there in the future ??? Anyone game?

Sort:  

This is so cool. It's the first time I heard of curling, though. Thanks for sharing with us @iceskatermom :) hope you enjoyed yourself!

Glad you found it interesting. Do let me know if you want to try the game. Would love to grow the game here.

Can you believe it is my 1st time come across floor curling. So for the 1st photo i thought it is some new way to clean our floor. One look like some kind of sweeper. Another like the floor vacuum robot. haha.

Anyway, hope your bruise and muscle will get better in no time so can go sport again gaogao.

Hahaha! Yup, I feel fine now that my legs have been returned to me ....looking forwards to our next session. Fyi, we use the sweeper or brush as it is called, to sweep the ice, so you are right ! The 'robot' is the stone.