You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tammy, my sister from another mother

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

That is a very lovely true story of friendship. And it is amazing to know that it was from pen-pal connections. You were blessed to have Tammy and for years!

Back in the pen pal days, I always hesitated to just pick names from magazines as I do not know these people. I did a few pen pal connections through referral from friends but it did not take long. I think it was like we received each other's letter and found it boring to reply to.

I wonder where or how you got Tammy's details that led you to start writing to each other?

Sort:  

Thank you for such lovely comments @macoolette! It's been soooooo long ago neither my sisters nor I remember where we got our details from. All I remember is that I had a form to state my first, second and third preference of where I would like my pen pal from and I think shortly after that we just received a short description of the person- Name, age and where from and that's how it all began. It's a shame there isn't anything like that now but in England, some teachers try to hook up with schools from other countries to encourage pen friendship but I'm not sure if they are successful in doing that.

With the peak of social media and even dating app or website, people can look on the web for others whom they would want a connection with. It may not as obvious as how penpal used to work but I guess, that's basically it. They just put in on the web. 😊

Thank you for sharing your heart warming story here!

❤️❤️❤️