My journey as a teacher/educator

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Sometimes work is not something people choose themselves.. sometimes, work choses people.. (what i’m blabbering here? Haha.. Hope you can understand what i am trying to convey here..)

I am a teacher.. and i am proud to be one.. and somehow i think.. God chose me to be one.. and i hope to be able to contribute to a better world no matter how small..

Sometime I did complaint.. and I did falter.. and sometimes I just felt like quitting.. but i think it’s just human to feel that way.. and somehow that drives me to be better and try harder..

Before my profession as a teacher begin..

EF12B8CA-2F34-4093-926E-997E9B45A6EA.jpeg
My first job was in an IT company.. it was a small company but i considered myself as lucky to be able to work as soon as graduation and right before recession.. My boyfriend (now my husband) was unable to secure a job that time because he started job hunting later than me.. recession was already at it’s peak..

The IT job was fun.. my colleagues were all young and ambitious and fun to be around.. even my boss joined us watching movies and went bowling together.. It was like a dream job to being able to feel happy working.. the starting salary was enough.. for me, there’s quite balance between work and life.. but after a few years the pay was static.. fun was still there but the static salary began to affect my positivity at work.. and after some time (4 years to exact.. ) i started questioning the pay and began to search for a new job..

6BC05AC3-0F9E-4DE1-97FB-5BCF0C2C2461.jpeg

I remembered the time when we (me and my colleague.. also my best friend) got accepted to work in government sector.. as a teacher.. and the salary offered was quite inviting.. compared to the salary at the company currently that time..

1CBDA753-FFB5-4F68-B613-D4569FD07EBA.jpeg
So both of us accepted the offer.. Rejecting the offer means we will reduce our chances to apply for government sector the next time we try.. we jumped at the opportunity..

CF4691E0-08A2-40E4-A184-3BA76241C99B.jpeg
So we went to an institute.. a one year course for teacher-to-be.. This is the only picture i can find during my course at an institute preparing me to be a teacher.. It was like being at school again for one whole year.. To be a teacher we learned both by being students and teachers at the same time..

It was fun.. our class.. we remain friends until now.. and time does flies that fast.. and now i am already at my thirteenth year as a teacher.. below are some of my photos as a teacher..

CC84779F-661D-409D-AA4F-047F0C64EF2D.jpeg

4270B6D3-C948-4177-888E-E55DAE8593D3.jpeg

CCF319F8-5E55-4A9E-B519-0A2448555A42.jpeg

972D1492-E4D1-4AD9-9FB8-0D329B23FD03.jpeg

769745C2-0ACA-4876-AD9C-426E0D1EE433.png

To be honest.. time after time i stumbled.. being teacher sounds easy but until now i am still learning and made mistakes along the way.. As a teacher.. there are times when teachers have to be a nurse nursing injured kids.. sometimes we have to be like a police investigating cases like missing money or solving a fight.. Being teacher also means to be able to do clerical works making letters and managing files..

I am not sure what future lies for me.. challenges after challenges coming for teachers.. to all teachers out there.. what is your story.. i’d love to read about other teachers all over the world.. if this managed to reach that far..

Here in steemit i hope to gain more knowledge and expand my limits.. and I also hopes to improve my writing.. hope to improve my wrinting skill everytime i write.. any advise to improve is very much welcomed..