My journey giving back to the society #1

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

I grew up with my late grandma in Ipoh town. As far as I can remembered, we were never rich, but never a time that I feel that we were poor either. My grandma always made me feel that as long as we are living within our mean, we actually have more than enough. If you ever see anyone hungry give them food to eat. That's why many meal times, we served many uninvited guests and we were so used to it. I guess that's how I got my inspiration when I am old enough to be financially independent, I wanted to give back to the society.

Today, I would like to share about my journey giving back to the society. Before I continue further, guess what I wanted to do in 2018? To donate my hair again. Yes, you heard me right.

I have been a volunteer for Hope Worldwide for almost twenty years now. Every year I will serve in different capacity in the charity events. ( which I will share more in my next post in details).

I remembered six year ago, I asked myself how can I give back to the society differently this time? Besides donating my money, time and service. Then, I came across a charity drive " hair donation for children" those children were cancer patient survivors. (I guess God must have heard me when I have those thoughts) I went into the website, I was very moved and inspired by all the donors. So, I told myself, that's it, I am going to keep my hair long, long enough to donate to those little children.

I remembered during that time, some how I feel that my hair grew super slow, despite of washing my hair everyday. Many times I was tempted to cut my hair short, saying to myself let someone else donate their hair. Talking about being patience and determine, I really got tested. Finally after two long years, I walked myself to the hair salon....and the rest was history. I was glad finally I can do something for this little children. My daughter was 6 year old back then, she cried so bad because she didn't like me cutting my hair so short.

IMG_20140504_220505.jpg
(Finally after two years of keeping my hair)

IMG_20140803_092024.jpg
(My 12 inches long hair)

IMG_20140803_092632.jpg
(I was really not used to my short hair)

With some sense of pride, whenever I was asked why I cut my hair so short (I knew that short hair cut didn't look nice on me) I just casually replied 'I donated my hair'.

I was very happy I finally did something for these unfortunate children and honestly I don't expect anything in return.

Then, I received this.

IMG_20140918_164822.jpg

And guess what, someone's teenager daughter saw what I did. She went and do like wise.

What I learnt? It's better to give then receive. Giving is contagious. It's never too late or too young to do good deeds.

######################################

Once again, thank you for reading.....
Took me a while to write again, because I was a bit confused, a bit not sure then a bit of pondering , wondering...... Somehow I told myself... Just DO IT, never try, never know. I will learn along the way to be better n better in writing...

Sort:  

This is an awesome post, it must have been really tough to grow your hair for all that time then just cut it.

Thank you @steemwhat. Yes, indeed, it was not easy, half way through I nearly wanted to give up, but for those little children, it was really worth it.

I'm sure the children are happy now so it was worth it!