My Memories in Pics #0001

in #teammalaysia3 years ago

IMG_0002.JPG

I am starting this series of picture posts that is aimed to walk myself along memory lane with photos that I took with or without my iPhone. All of the pictures live on my iCloud.

I go all the way back to 2010. A little before this, I tragically lost someone very dear to me. This is just a year after he left.

IMG_0010.JPG

The very first picture was taken with my MacBook Pro. The quality was like this.

I was there in the place that I love a lot. That will be Vancouver, Canada. Two of my favorite cousins live here. The very first time setting foot in Vancouver was quite an experience. We never had so many goodies in our lives. I was 13 then, and my aunties and grandma suggested that mom and dad send us to Vancouver for a trip. Mom and dad were hard at work and wouldn't be able to stay away for a month or 2. So when the holidays hit in 1994, we were on our way.

I remember a lot of things. All those memories will be living in my memoirs one day.

These are my cousins Tim and Jeff. Both of them have Hongkie parents. My mom is related to them. They inspired me to listen to Canto-pop and ignited that intention to sing in Cantonese and recognize Chinese characters in the dialect. We study Mandarin in school, and I had already been studying it for 6 years. I HATED IT. I guess my cousins gave me that sense of love towards the language after this trip.

My cousin brought me on a trip to a town in Canada. I forgot the name. But he put me on the trip, and I was only told by my aunt that I was going. I had no idea why he didn't want to tell me directly. I found out I was on a trip with his friends only a day before. I was not happy about it. I wanted to skip the trip. My cousin said he paid for everything for me. So I went. It was a good trip. I was reading most of the time. The friends thought I was still a student. I had graduated from university 3 years before this.

IMG_0112.jpeg

IMG_0096.JPG

The winter wonderland that I experienced would be a mere dream to us Malaysians. Experiencing it in person and not just from TV is one of the most beautiful things I give thanks for being lucky enough to be here. Ever since that trip to Canada when I was 13, I'd been dreaming to come to Canada to study. My parents asked their close friends to advise me not to go so early. I never liked Chinese school and I was in one of the best Chinese schools in Penang. Still, I longed to study in Canada because I just loved everything Canadian.

IMG_0007.JPG

1995

It was in 1995 that I went to Florida for a family reunion, visiting Disney World. The departure date was on the last of my exams. I was sitting for my Morals Studies examination then. I remember so vividly going to the vice principal's office requesting that I sit for the examination early. I was in an A-class at the time. We have classes in the categories of A, B, and C. He said I cannot because I would leak the questions.

I broke down right before him. He hesitated a bit and went in to talk to the principal. My request got rejected. I HATED the school ever since.

Ironically, I said LOVE CHUNG LING!!! LOVE CHUNG LING!!! In Chinese.

It would be. 爱吾钟灵!!!爱吾钟灵 !!! in my yearbook. It was the most miserable 3 years of my school life after that year. I went back to B class, met Pek, got hit by psychosis, hearing all kinds of students gossiping and bad mouthing me, and last but not least, embarked on the Natalie Dream in my final year of high school. It was just too late.

God bless.

--
Thanks for reading.

God bless.
Love and peace,
V

My Twitter: https://twitter.com/booboo_vic
My Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/booboovic/
My Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nothingohnothing/
My Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/user/dre4mkid
My 4thewords: https://4thewords.com/user/dre4mkid
My Twitch:


My Discord: https://discord.gg/EseKsJGm (Expires in 1 hour) [Work in progress]
My SkillShare: https://www.skillshare.com/user/findmikiejones
My Peakd: https://peakd.com/@victorholyo/feed
My Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/findmikiejones
My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAW4DJHOskosrTlCOe2y9sg

Come check me out writing on Twitch any time to talk about anything you want to talk about. You are always welcomed to pop by when I am online. You can also view my past broadcasts on my channel page. Thank uuu!

--
Recommended Apps and Resources

Writing App: The Bear app is great for Mac, iPad, iPhone and Apple Watch for word processing

Novel Writing App: The Ulysses app is great for writing your novel. It has word count goals, export features, revision features and it lives on all your iPad, iPhone and Mac. There are a lot of font types to choose from. The colours and styles are bountiful if you like to customize the look and feel of your screen. It includes the time of reading your work at a slow speed, average speed and fast speed. You can sort your files with folders and everything you write lives on the iCloud.

Learning Community SkillShare gives you unlimited access to all you can take classes.

Writing Game Web Service: 4thewords allows you play a WRITING game that makes writing really fun. Sign up with this code SQIPT48485 so I can get Crystals for the game. Thanks.