This post is powered by SteemPress

in #teammalaysia5 years ago (edited)

FINALLY after missing in action for more than half a year, I'm back to blogging! And this time, I'm using SteemPress! I've been mulling too long about whether I should use SteemPress. To be honest, I see more cons than positives when it comes to blogging with SteemPress and the Steem platform.

Specifically with SteemPress, my main gripe is that I can't specify that my actual self-owned WordPress blog is where all the canonical posts should be, and avoid from being tagged as duplicates by Google and other search engines. With Steem in particular, admit it-- the fact that I don't have personal control over the blockchain means that the content isn't solely mine to control; what if one day the Steem blockchain decides to collapse, bringing all the data down with them? With my own blog, at least I've already done secure multiple backups across the cloud.


Source. Google has a pretty sophisticated way of rendering HTML to identify which indexed content is original.

One HUGE benefit that I see with using SteemPress, though, is in the post scheduling. Since it is built as part of WordPress, naturally the publishing status into Steemit will also follow what is set in my WordPress editor. That is a major help, especially seeing that none of the Steemit editing platforms has this support. Busy.org comes close to being able to save drafts, but that's about it.

Additionally, I finally figured out how to post with WordPress without messing with my existing posts and its SEO at WebGrrrl.net. The solution: set SteemPress on a separate WordPress installation from the main site! Hahaha, it sounded ridiculous and tedious to me at first, but then I quickly reminded myself that I'm running on a multisite WordPress installation, so getting a new WordPress site up is easy peasy!


Source. It's just a matter of re-using the same WordPress installation without touching its content. Perfect.

So yay, everything worked out in the end!

For this post, I'm going to immediately publish this and right away monitor my Steemit blog. Fingers crossed, hope everything is smooth <3

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post:
https://steemit.com/agriculture/@webgrrrl/urban-farming-with-hydrophonics

Sort:  

Hey @webgrrrl ... welcome back. Just to clarify these things ...

  1. "With Steem in particular, admit it-- the fact that I don't have personal control over the blockchain means that the content isn't solely mine to control" - as long as you are the owner of the private keys to the article you have posted .. the information posted are yours and belong to you. The data is securedly stored on the blockchain and if you took a look at this post for example ... you can see it in the blockchain. any other app which connects to the steem blockchain is able to read your blogs.
    you can see it from here https://steemdb.com/teammalaysia/@webgrrrl/thispostispoweredbysteempress-5sga55i9yn/data
    or https://steemd.com/teammalaysia/@webgrrrl/thispostispoweredbysteempress-5sga55i9yn/
  2. what if one day the Steem blockchain decides to collapse, bringing all the data down with them? - thats like trying to take down skynet. you would need to literally shut down the Internet or shutdown every single witness node to bring a blockchain down.

Yeah, call me paranoid. What I post in Steem, stays in Steem, and takes effort to move the content over someplace else not unlike Facebook and Twitter. At least with my own blog, the content stays with my branding at WebGrrrl.net.

Adding to the fact that I can also control the backend of my blog asofar as to at least manage my own virtual server, means that I am steps closer to controlling the technology and tools I prefer to use within the website.

I'm totally not complaining, though. After my own WP.org blog, the Steem platform is my second preferred choice, followed by Medium which is such an ease to blog in.

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by WebGrrrl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @webgrrrl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You've received an upvote from SteemXP Community

SteemXP Curation Guild is dedicated to the growing Southeast Asia steemit communities. To support and promotes new and promising authors, original and good content from Southeast Asian Nations Member Nation. Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Philippines, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos, Brunei.

Check out our Website, Join our community on Discord and support our mission by following our curation guild.

Vote SteemXP Witness @bitrocker2020 using this link