"On The Turning Away"

in #teamserbia5 years ago (edited)

Few days ago I posted some selfie that I made in the National Museum and it occurred to my mind to write some impressions. It was closed for 15 years and it was about time to start again working. If your path takes you to Belgrade, check this place.

Here you can see items from a few centuries BC, from well shaped jewelry to beautifully designed pots for making brandy. The museum is on three floors, there is a lot to see... I spent there 4 hours and it wasn't enough....one floor I didn't have time to see, so I need to go back.

This is part of the jaw. It belonged to Homo heidelbergensis. Imagine something a few hundred thousand years old in front of you, to be precise, 400 thousand years.

2.JPG

3.JPG

I remember these sculptures from primary school, they were on the cover of a book of art.

4.JPG

And this is wild ox's horn.

6.JPG

O yeah, at that time they enjoyed tea.

7.JPG

And this sculpture named "Votive charlot" dates back to the second half of the second millennium BC.

DSC_0482.JPG

But imagine that you make brandy in this kettle, with this handwork.

9.JPG

The motifs of the jewelry from the Čurug hoard dated to the 4th century BC. I do not usually wear jewelry, but I would now make an exception.

10.JPG

These Hellenic and Roman sculptures, created between the 2th century BC and first decades of the 4th century AD were used for worship. I believe that you can recognize some of them.

DSC_0529.JPG

14.JPG

and here's the creepy Diocletian

15.JPG

I've skipped a couple of centuries to photograph, it was a big crowd.

DSC_0590.JPG

When I saw this, I remembered why I did not like history in high school. Then you had to know everything from A to Z. this is the family tree of Serbian rulers

16.JPG

Here are some other things that have attracted my attention.

18.JPG

19.JPG

Is this another division bell?

17.JPG

As I said, I need to go back, so expect more in the future. : )

Enjoy the day!

Sort:  

What an amazing museum! Your photos are wonderful and I really appreciate the tour!

thank you....if you come to Serbia, this is a must : ) there will be more, this is just the third part of the exhibit

Oh this place looks lovely.. and your photos are stunning.. love the mood of them. Dang I missed this place too.. how did I miss so much?! Thanks for sharing this.. the museum looks like I could get lost in there for awhile. I think the book shot is my favorite ❤️

thank you! That's because the boys were tourist guides, not me. :D The next time I'll be your guide through the city, not just for restaurants. It will be soon, I can feel it. : ) The museum is obligatory. It's really great, it was worth waiting so many years.
<3 from Belgrade

This was great, a lovely guided walk through the museum with you. That really looks like an incredible collection!

Believe me there are more to see. Every museum has something worth of visiting, I have to believe in that.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thank you! : )

Congratulations @divisionbell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!