A New Appreciation For Beer

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago

20171219_192556.jpg

I'm not much of a beer drinker (if at all), but December was the month of food affairs and searching for new wines to love. I ordered various new wines while hubby tried every craft beer he could find.

I did particularly fall in love with a certain coffee stout at The Craft Burger Bar in Cape Town. If coffee were taken away I would have to throw my tears into this yummy Black River Coffee. Oh no, wait. Coffee would be non-existent. I guess that's why wine was invented. Definitely a place worth checking out. The menu is extensive, and though highly priced we could not help but return and make it our home.

Sedgefield presented us with a complimentary beer tasting of six different varieties, namely Blonde Ale, Weiss Ale, Irish Red Ale, India Pale Ale, Tiddly Tortoise and Porter.

I'm surprised to say the Blonde Ale was a winner for me. I may not have finished it but a girl can beer once in a while. I fell in love with it's subtle taste while hubby preferred the more bitter flavors.

20171218_120824.jpg

There's not much going on in terms of dining as it's a micro brewery, but there was ample space to sit outside and enjoy our beer. Beautiful view, I must say, and the brewery was surrounded by a variety of shops and cafes if we needed the extra bite.

I'm curious to know, what did you get up to this holiday? Is there something new you tried that may have impressed you in a way you didn't expect too?

While mostly there for the exploration and experience, it was totally worth the trip.

Cheers to a new things!

20171218_120847.jpg.

Sort:  

Cheers to you guys , that shirt rules !!!

Thank you. And yes, wish they had a female version of it. ;)

Haha! Yeah it does!

Sounds good, looks good, got the T-shirt to go with it @bunnychow

Time to visit our local brewery with a camera too, they make an awesome range of beers, just right for the hot time of year.

BTW have you considered entering this with an edit or two for #BeerSaturday - initiated by @detlev he would love to know we South African's have great beers down here too....

Hi @joanstewart. Thank you for the love. Much appreciated. Now I'm curious to know. Where do you live?

Would love to follow your next visit's post. We should have taken more pics. I think it would have made for a richer post. But I'll be on the lookout for your visit. And for pics.

Will definitely have a look at #BeerSaturday. Thank you for the recommendation.

Mega love. xx

Close to Amanzimtoti and have a brewery on the Illovo River just down the road.

Last time I went I did not have my camera for some strange reason, normally I never go out without it, good excuse for another visit.

I just Googled it. It looks stunning!

Can't wait for the pics. Have fun while you're there. :)

Have to find out when they are open again, last time we went down it was a special event for the area, will post when I get there for sure @bunnychow

Have an awesome weekend and look forward to seeing you join in #teamsouthafrica

Nice one, I'm not a beer drinker but enjoy visiting craft breweries with hubby! I do love bunnychows though :)

Thank you. The visits can be pretty fun, especially if it's with a beer lover, right. :)

Don't touch Alcohol , but do Love Bunnychow!