Moving In

in #teamuk2 years ago

key-3348307_960_720.jpeg

When we moved out of our previous property at the end of May none of us imagined that it would be nearly November before we had a new place to call home.

The oil leak which presaged our move is still being dealt with by tour previous landlord. Currently an outer wall has been taken down and a section of floor dug up to a depth of one-and-a-half meters (59 inches).

However, that is not our problem.

On Friday we received confirmation that next week we can start moving into our new property.

Having spent the summer apart from the family (I have been in temporary accommodation in Cornwall, and with my folks in Ludlow - they have been with family in Scotland) I'm looking forward to us being re-united.

It'll also be nice to have access to things. Books, utensils, clothes. In one respect it's been a good exercise in how little I can live with, on the other hand I have things because I like them and because they fulfil roles.

Next week I will start moving things into the house, getting some basic things set up - beds in bedrooms, clothes to the correct bedrooms, kitchen stuff unpacked, junk stuffed into the garage and shed...

Hopefully not that. Though emptying two of the three storage units we currently have is high up the list. the third one has my sale items so will be needed a while longer until I can sort the garage properly.

And that is something I'm looking forward to getting back underway in November. Up until the spring I had a healthy stock of antique and vintage items on eBay, but there just wasn't the scope to keep things going while functionally homeless. Now it's time to start re-listing things - and I even purchased a few small items at auction this week to make the kick off nice and easy.

How will this impact writing and posting?

Well, I have quite a stock of poems and stories to draw from, and with the occasional blog post such as this and the odd Dine Out Breakfast post I'm sure to stay on top of posting - unless I forget.

New writing, that is going to require more concerted effort. I'm hoping to keep going for an hour a day and if I do that then some days I'll get a hundred words or so, and on others about a thousand. The important thing is to keep writing because I am determined that this novel will finally reach a completed first draught.

Exciting times are ahead.

Sort:  

Hi @stuartcturnbull,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

The nice thing about PeakD is the ability to schedule posts. That'll come in handy on the days life is busy. Happy moving!
!LUV

I missed fact you've moved! I'm finding it hard to remember to post and I've used up my archive of drafts 😂

Hard to keep track of everything. & spaces for scheduled posts fill up quick, don't they?