The government destroyed my house

in #teardrops6 years ago

My pillow is soaked in tears. I have been weeping for hours. I slept last night in tears. I didn't even feel like sleeping at all. But my eyes responded to nature's call because it was too swollen to remain open last night. Yesterday night, My eyes were welled with tears but I refused to release it freely. I kept on telling myself to be strong. I even muttered to myself repeatedly that I am strong and should not cry. At a point I told myself that it was a dream. So I further convinced myself to sleep. I told myself that when I wake in the morning it will all be a dream.

Six hours later, I woke up and put a call to my mum. She picked up and I asked her if what she told me yesterday was true. She said yes and I immediately ended the call.

IMG-20180517-WA0043.jpg

It was true that my parent's property had been destroyed yesterday.

I bursted into tears.
They flew down like a river.
I couldn't contain it anymore.
This cannot be true.
How would my parent's labor of many years be shattered in just one day?

Some lousy government officials destroyed some property that were still under construction in a community in Lagos yesterday. And unfortunately, our property was affected.

It is so disheartening that the government who is supposed to protect her own is the reason her citizen weeps.

Nothing is left of the building as it is in the picture. This property is a product of so many years of labor and sacrifice. This was part of my parents plan towards retirement. The plan was to move in by the middle of the year but there has not been enough money to complete the roofing. So we paused and we were trying to save up money and now this bad news.

Reason(s) the house was demolished

I called back few minutes later to ask my mum what the problem was. I had to ask if the land was meant for the government or if it was our fault and that of other people that were affected. I wanted to be sure we were in the right.

And the shocker response I got was that, the government officials were insulted by some villagers from the community. There is absolutely no justifiable reason.

This is a pure case of insensitivity. I mean gross insensitivity. How do you explain destroying one's labour of years.

They murdered a soul

One of those whose property was affected is now dead. He couldn't bear the shock. When he got to the site of the incidence and saw his property demolished, he collapsed and died.

I am so pained. I hope this passes soon.


Thank you so much for reading.

I @gee1, I am the Steem Evangelist.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

So sorry that happened, they are indeed heartless.

This is very heartbreaking. I am sorry for this loss. I know a God who can repay, in a hundred fold, and I believe He's going to compensate you and your family.

Hopefully this can be repaired and her life can continue forward again..

I hope so too. The whole thing still looks like a dream to me. It's just so heart breaking 😭😭😭

Thanks Jeff

@gee1.. I am very sorry for this great disappointment. I just want you to be strong and have hope for something better than this. Also, sometimes when bad things befall us it is sometimes the plan of God just to protect us from something very calamitous greater than the incident. Ask your self this question, what if after the completion of the house and things don't seems to be going smoothly when you are living in there?
I believe there is a greater blessing coming. We just have to endure the pain, believe and hope in God and we keep striving for success till it comes to us.

I sympathise with you drastically. I am very sorry for this great loss.

That's true. Only God knows why he permitted it to happen.

Thank you so much.

U are welcome.

Like seriously I didn't even know what to comment on this post hope this is not a reality but fiction. God will raise a better mansions for your family

It's a reality.
I'm still dazed.

I say a big amen to your prayer.

Very sorry

Governments do what they want unless you show them you have the poker to say otherwise.

Its sad but there will be no justice for this. ...

Sorry dear, I know how you may be feeling by now but the lord is in control and take heart he will sure take of this.

Amen
Thank you so much

I was just browsing blogs from air-cliniic interviewees when I saw the headline of this article and had to click it ...
I'm pretty speechless now.
How can thelocal administration not know whose ground it is before something is built on it? And what advantage do they have from having all this mess lying around instead of being removed completely at once? Did they try to make an example?
I'm so sad for your parents.
Can you give me an update on this?

Aww
Thats so sad
May God comfort your family

Amen
Thank you

Reminds me of what happened back in lagos state during fashola regime. The government has always oppressed the masses with insensitive laws and decisions.
Glad your parents are okay. God will open more larger doors.

Sure He will yield to the call of his children.
Thanks a lot

Oops!!! That's so painful
God will provide a bigger and better property for your family.
Some government officials ehn

Amen
Thanks

I am so sorry

Thank you

OMG! 😱 I'm so sorry for that. This is cruelty at the peak!
This is the country we are living in.
Don't worry, God has a better plan for you. They will not go unpunished! Take heart Girl... God is with you.

Thank you so much.

Its a saddening occurrence. A tear dropping post. A great mind, soul and heart can overcome it

Yeah. Thank you so much.

I am so sorry about this dear. Imagine the silly reason some bunch of government official can destroy one's hard laboured property. Such incomoetence. It will be better my dear.

Amen. It will indeed be better.
Thank you so much.

Yeah. Anytime

Awww😭😢...this is really painful...I pray God does His wonderful work nd provide a better one...

Amen. Thanks dear

Am speechless
Take heart dear

Thanks dear

You are stoic yes. I am very sad that you are suffering now. God's semonga gives you a better way

Oh dear @gee1 I know this hurts so bad but trust God and font forget all things are working for the very best for you and your family. It's well

Thank you so much sis

So sorry dear. This is disheartening. The federal government should see to this. Or higher ranks in the state. The Lord is your strength. Please reduce or stop crying. It won't build the house back, it will only worsen the situation.

Thanks dear

OMG!!
The testimony ahead is a great one, the labour of the righteous shall not be in vain.

Congratulations on the new building, because God is at work, wipe your tears dear, because your family is singing a new song.

Amen

I believe a big testimony is on the way.
Thanks dear

I'm so sorry for what has happened to your family I know it's so painful to see what you have worked so hard to put in time and resources to build and in a flash it's been destroyed I can imagine the pain
I just pray God give you and your family the strength and courage to get pass this time.

Amen.
Thanks a lot

This is disheartening. It'll be fine tho. I'm so sorry for this

I'm really so sorry about this dear
God will definitely make a way when it seems like there's no way.

I am lost at words, nothing i know would comfort your parents' and your pain for now

Plenty of hugs to you guys

I receive the hug darling.
Thank you so much.

Damn!
I am really sorry about this, I totally understand your pain and I am at loss of words of comfort cos no amount of words said can take away this pain you feel right now. Please know that my heart is with you even if words do not come forth from my mouth.

This is so melancholy...
It reminds me if the problem people are going through in owerri.

So sorry for it..
God knows why..
Am remember most atimes every disappointment is a blessing.
The Lord we serve will prove himself.
I pray for more better one ahead to come..

So sorry about this dear. I pray God deal with them accordingly and replenish that which you have lost ok. Be strong @gee1

Am so sorry about this

There is a reason for all..... Also see it as a stepping stone.... You will get a new and better apartment as well as everyone affected

So sorry about your loss @gee1 but then what can one expect from our government of today. Even though they were elected to provide for us, they've made it clear from the onset that we are the least of their problem...their minority.
Take heart my love...God wouldnt let this happen if he had nothing bigger in store for you guys. Maybe next time, it will be you sharing testimoney of a bigger, better house.

Our government keeps taking from us. What a country we live in... Thank God they can't take steemit from us...

I can't begin to imagine how you feel, but it would be alright. Be strong

I feel so sad reading this, can the community sue the government?

This is proverbial king's house, when it is destroyed, mansion proceeds it.

Ah! This is serious @gee1, I can imagine the pain your parents are going through. Take heart dear. God, will surprise you and favour your family. I pray they are strong during this trying time. Stay strong for your family, I know its not easy. God will comfort you all. Amen!

@gee1, I really can feel your pains.
You and your family would overcome this.
Divine breakthrough is my prayer for you.

The Lord is doing a new thing which shall spring forth soon, the Lord is your strength darling, this kind of situation makes one stronger.

MyGee @gee1. Your latter will be better than your former... Only God knows why. And be consoled that the plans God has for us is of good and not of evil to bring us to an expected end.

This is really heartbreaking. May God help you bear this loss.

This is heartbreaking. Keep a positive mind dear, it's always darkest before dawn.

Sorry for this late response sis, I've been away from steemit a few days now. I pray God makes it look like when God restored the glory of Zion. God knows the best, I pray He restores your loss with a better one. I hope you're following up on the Government officials, they need to be brought to book. Remain blessed and pls stop crying , it is well with your soul.

This is disheartening and i am deeply sorry about this my dear. This is hard to take and i pray that you will all enjoy a short walk. God will recover all for you. You will all enjoy total restoration, not partial, but full restoration. Why? David recovered all, you descended from David, so you can be confident that this can only work out for your good.

You have no idea what God would do from this. I am excited for you. One things fast on the heels of the other and you will not be able to keep up, why? Because everywhere you look, it would be blessing. This will turn around for your good. Rest, and be confident in God. He knows about this, He has it covered. So, congratulations darling.

And all things work together for the good of those who love him and are called according to his purpose. God will embarrass you with laughter. Cheer up.

Insult? That's all? This is absolutely wicked. Don't worry dear, there are better things ahead for you and your family.

The lord be with you ! And blessings will come back in million folds for you! Please take it easy!

wow. so sorry about this @gee1. Lets not say God knows best and fold hands. I think this should be taken up and get in touch with the necessary authority and state your case please. Its well. Be strong.

Jeez, this is heartbreaking. Please be strong in this very trying period.

I will give you a call later.

I'm really sorry for this.

Stay strong. The wing will pass

Sure it will.
Thanks dear

Sorry about the mess honey, hey don't think too deep.
From nowhere God will provide for your family to start over again.

Amen.

Prettyjules I appreciate this.
Thank you.

@gee1 we deeply regret this irrational and ruthless act that your family has been a victim, and we pray for the material and emotional restoration.

There are 2 pages
Pages