Typhoon Yolanda (Haiyan) and My Home!

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

It was on November 10, 2013. A super typhoon hit the Philippines. It was really unforgettable. I preferred I have no memory of it at all. If I could just move that thing to hit nothing, it was the best timing - I think. It was somewhat magical, the scenarios were expectantly unbelievable, but absolutely unlikable. It was destructive in fact. It was a traumatic happening that could burst one's tears hearing the victims stories.

Yolanda (Haiyan - International Name) is the worst ever typhoon that struck my beloved country. No wonder it is called a super typhoon. It wiped out trees, houses and any other properties. It killed at least 6000 people's lives. It hurts until now remembering the harshness brought by Yolanda. I can't do nothing but bow my head, close my eyes and pray.

111111.png

This was our house after the typhon Yolanda's devastation. No more roof where you can shelter in. No more trees which gives life and color. No more beds where you can lie on and rest.

I was working as a grade school teacher during those days. I was at the mainland of Cebu, far from my hometown which is the beautiful island of BANTAYAN. Hearing the news of what Yolanda could be, I called my mother at home via phone. It was in the morning at around 9:00 AM. They were just fine, my mother said. They only experienced light rains and the wind were just so friendly. At noon time, I wasn't able to contact them anymore. The telecommunications were shut off. I was nervous. The only thing I could do was to turn on the radio and listened to some news. News were deadly scary seriously. Houses were down. Roofs, cars and other objects from the ground were lifted up and thrown away. Saddest part is - lives and lives of people were lost. It was maybe the longest time of my life. Looking at the sky with my mind staring at my eyes. My soul was crying and wanted to shout. But I could't do it. The only thing I did was to kneel down and prayed. Tears started flowing from my eyes. I was just deeply hoping that my loved ones were safe.

Days after, I went home bringing some relief goods for them. I felt so strange while riding on a jeepney going home. The road looked different. Trees were not green but brown. They looked dead. I loved to wake up from my nightmare if it was. Sadly, it wasn't. I had only known that I already arrived when a child asked "Is that our school mom?". I realized, "Yes! It is". It was the school were should I stopped. I still couldn't believe what I saw.

Then I heard their stories - when the wind started to blow strongly, they moved to our neighborhood, whose house is concrete. However, it was not enough for their safety and security. The roof was flown away. Glass windows were broken into tiny pieces. They were freezing inside. To have their bodies feel a little warm, especially for the kids aged 5 and below, they hid themselves under the table. There were 5 families hiding. My brother, who had a fever, forgot the feeling but was instead fighting for their lives. My father tried to went out and back to our house to get some dry clothes. However, he was forcibly lift by the wind and was thrown far. Little ones were crying and trembling in fear. The old ones were trying to be firm and look strong though deep inside , they were frightened of the fact. Due to terribly strong wind, they couldn't go nowhere. They couldn't do nothing but together offered a sincerest prayer.

Screenshot_20180208_232336.png

My father trying to build their temporary shelter.

Screenshot_20180208_232155.png

My uncle puzzled what to do next with their house.

Screenshot_20180208_232020.png

My brother in law trying to collect something helpful.

Screenshot_20180208_232320.png

Life doesn't end there. It was not a dead end. After the rain, there comes the rainbow. After the night, sun rises bringing new light and new hopes.

Typhoon Yolanda may have destroyed our houses into pieces but the incident keeps our HOME tight. Our love and care for each other were nurtured and nourished abundanty.

We lost our houses but we found our REAL HOME - our FAMILY!

Live to Love! Love to Live!
Do No Harm!

Sort:  

I knew this was some story, very hard to read. I've seen it on local and international news. It was just beyond imagination. Thank God, your story had a happy ending. I'm happy you still have each other.

It was really a blessing. The community was helping each other. Thanks for spending your time to read.

Amazing story! Thank you for sharing it. It's crazy how we as people can be so materialistic when others has much less and can remain happy.

exactly! I can't agree more.

Grabiha jud ato Lee oy. May gani safe ra sila.

bitaw @glenna. salamat tawn kaayo sa Ginoo!

In every trial, the most important thing remains. Your family is blessed to have that.
Thank you for your support, donation received.

Thank you @steemph. Thank you as well for dropping by.

You are welcome and in fact I am the one so much grateful for your support. If you need a hand, please let know. I'll do the best I can to contribute to our community.