Disruptions, Disruptions

in #tech6 years ago

So, I just learned that my backup hard drive doesn't work at all. I thought, perhaps, that it worked in only one direction, able to back up files from the original source, but not from multiple sources. Let me explain: when I built my second computer in a different location, I originally intended to use the exact same case, the Corsair Obsidian 800D, which has convenient removable hard drive bays. Since I couldn't get that case at the time (and may not be able to anymore anyway), I went for the next best thing: a hard drive cloning dock! I'd clone the hard drives (which I had problems with, as I explain in an earlier post titled "A Point or Two About... Wastes of Time") and then use an external to back up each, retrieving the files every time I moved from one location to another, thus keeping my data in synch. That... didn't work. My hard drive, a Western Digital 3TB "MyBook," apparently cannot backup or retrieve files from ANY source, and if I had access to any sort of weapon at the moment, I'd either smash or shoot the blasted thing. In any case, I need another external drive - one that actually does what I need it to, and also one that I can look inside to see if the files really are backed up. About the only good thing to come out of this is that I now have the perfect excuse to spend all my figuring out how to make these CAD tutorials I promised and then never went anywhere with, since all the information I need to work on every other project is temporarily out of reach. Unfortunately, that includes my recently-made KV-8S model, which I need to re-upload to Shapeways and validate because some idiot who works there decided to reject it on the basis of the towing shackles being too small - something that no-one has ever bitched about before.

So, some previews. I probably mentioned before that I wanted to create a decent water base for displaying my model ships. It's still a work in progress, since I need to adjust the lighting and colour of the sea floor, but here's what I have so far:
Nadezhda-class Dreadnought.PNG

A Nadezhda-class dreadnought - you can read more about it if you click the link below:
https://kjworldsong.wordpress.com/2018/01/20/the-double-eagle-dreadnoughts/

In fact, if you haven't taken a peek at my WordPress post, I suggest you do, because that show pictures of it before I coloured the waterline and added the anchors. Anyway, I chose to test my new water base with my nicest-looking ship model:

Water base black floor one light default.PNG

And here we have the result:
Ship base test 1.PNG

This is a work in progress. And no, I didn't make the waterline green so that it blends it, I did that because Russian ships built around the turn of the 20th century were typically painted that way. Granted, there are some notable differences between the historical Russian and fictional Alexandrian empires, but paint jobs on ships are not among them.

Sort:  

"So that it blends IN!" Bloody hell, I've been making a lot of typos lately. Well, what can I say, I'm under a good bit of stress.