A good editing program? HELLPP!?!?!

I'm having such a hard time finding an editing program that's easy to use, (all I want to do is trim videos and put them in order), fairly inexpensive and works with the video files I have. I am filming on a Panasonic GH4, and am finding that on most of the programs I'm trying to use the video will be all jumpy and lagging.
Now I've downloaded a program (Eyeframe Converter 1.8.1) that converts my videos into a code that should be compatible with the editing program.
I've tried to use 3 different editing programs, Power Director 16, VSDC free video editor and Lightworks. Either the video doesn't work on the program at all (converted or original) or I can't figure out the basic trim and drag videos into place.
It's probably just me and my lack of knowledge, but if anyone could help, make suggestions that would be greatly appreciated!! Even if you have no clue how to help, resteem so maybe someone who knows a thing or two can help me out! Thanks everyone!

Sort:  

If your computer has an older OS and still has Movie Maker it is a simple option. It can't do much but it should do everything you want to do at this point, judging by what you have said in your post. Hitfilm is a free one too but it is reasonably complex so if you can't do MM you might want to try it but watch some tutorials first. It isn't simple but the tutorials should show you how to do the basics pretty well.