You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Inescapable AI Hive Mind

in #technology5 years ago

While my grasp of the topic is still in the range of amateur, it wasn't until I researched what went into these AI systems that I came to realize the limitations.

The greatest risks from AI come through the AI manipulation algorithms; tweaking recommendations to favor friends, has a very likely potential to influence the thought process of millions of users. Similarly, can create a dystopian society where the AI determines the rules and results, but short of having the system just automatically shutting the person out of the grid, there would still be a need for human efforts.

While there is room for AI to accomplish tasks (as in AI controlled machines refining tasks through learning) that stands to put some jobs at risk, it is far more likely that these AI systems will expand to become better 'assistants' than 'replacements'... that is, until society goes full skynet.

Sort:  

Thanks for reading! I am an amateur myself, with only peripheral exposure to "real" AI in my IT profession. Workforce automation is a big problem, but I agree about the algorithms being the greatest risk. I think we will go "full skynet" very quietly, one newsfeed suggestion at a time, and the killer robots will show up much later, if they even need to at all.

Happy times!