You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NAS Build 2019 Step 2 - First parts delivery

in #technology5 years ago

Very nice! Looks like it is going to be an awesome project. Under the $1700 price point is really attractive too. I have been thinking about integrating one of these into my environment, but my users just don't store that much data on the server anymore. It is just a couple of individual use cases...

Sort:  

You can cut the price on drives in half going with 2TB Seagate SAS drives. You can get them for about $25 each.

You also don't have to fill up the case, and if you have no plans on getting anywhere near 15 drives, you can just go with a medium or full tower like the Fractal Design R5/R6.

Thanks for the tip! My file server has a max capacity of only 600 GB and it took my users about three years to finally fill that up. A lot of our stuff happens in the cloud these days. We are relatively small too.

You could just go with two 10TB drives for $169 each (shucked drive from Best Buy) and do Raid 1. Don't need to get more complex than that.

This is the lowest these drives have been, and they have a WD Red/White inside if you "shuck it" (pull the drive out of the external enclosure).

Very cool! I am lucky and I get education pricing. I might have to dig into this a little deeper.