#LetsTalkAboutIt - iPhone or Android? - Give Me Your Pros & Cons!

in #technology8 years ago (edited)

Yes, I know...

This is an age old debate. But let me give you a rundown on why I'm asking for your opinion and THEN you can choose to throw tomatoes at me or not! Deal? Ok good!

Here's My Reasoning...

So, in 2008, I got my very first iPhone.. the iPhone 3g. I thought it was cool, you know? It was the newest, hottest phone out and I felt trendy with it. I kept it for about a year and then traded it in for an android and that was that! For the next six years, I was hooked and totally Team Android!

alt text
Image Royalty Free From https://stocksnap.io/photo/KZ5LJ0LTNN

A little backstory: I'm a nerd in a cool kid's shell. I'm lucky to live the best of both worlds! I'm a tech geek and proud of it. Android's ability to be manipulated in my favor and for what I want it to work with or work like, I loved that, and I enjoyed the ability I had to make any android phone I had, my own!

But I got bored. With each upgrade, I felt less and less invested. I didn't text as much, I was bored with the so called updates.. My last android was the Samsung Galaxy s6. And yet again, I was over it. So when I caught wind of the iPhone 6s and it's updates, I was intrigued. I'd been bored with the latest in the Samsung family after having almost all of the past models and I was ready to get my spark back with something new.

So I did it, I went for the iPhone 6s and I was HOOKED! I'm now Team iPhone and it works out perfectly for me because, being the nerd that I am, I only liked Apple products for everything else.. *** Here's a secret - my MacBook Pro was my first child. Haha! And my iPad Air 2 is my 4th child. So it was nice to have all things be congruent.

alt text
Image Royalty Free From https://picjumbo.com/iphone-6-in-girls-hands/

Now that I've been recruited to the other team, I had my dad check out the iPhone 7 Plus (my current phone) after being a long time android head like myself. He has it now and says he likes it! I wasn't quite sure he would to be honest.. but he says he does so that works for me!

Now that you know what brings me here, what's your take on the great debate?! I really want to know what others think about when choosing their next smart phone.

alt text
Image Royalty Free From https://www.flickr.com/photos/86979666@N00/5032312585

Are You Team iPhone or Team Android? Comment Your Answer Below!

PS: I'm loving the hashtag LetsTalkAboutIt so let's make that a thing... can we make that a thing? :)

Sort:  

I personally like the iphone myself. I switched to an Iphone5 when it first came out from a samsung hero and hadn't used anything android since. It seems weird using any of my friend's android tablets when I'm hanging out at their place. I have to look for buttons and all kinds of extra stuff.

I understand you can customize more things and get a few extra features here and there with android stuff, but I still like apple's simplicity. I don't need that much to play around with. And more than anything the apple machines work and stay working for a long time.

The only thing I really hate about apple is the crappy material they make their charging cords with, and their prices are out of line sometimes.

@bigtakosensei I feel you completely. What drew me to iPhone also was the simplicity and the clean, sleep look of the system. I sometimes feel like android's os is a little "kiddy", for lack of a better word. Like it's cartoonish I guess and I feel like iPhone os is a little bit more "grown and sexy" as I like to call it! Haha!

And I hear that a lot about the charging cords and what not.. for me and my phone cords, I can't complain but I keep them in one spot and have extras for the car so I don't move them much at all.. but my macbook pro charger, yeah, no lie these expensive things break super easily and I can't stand it!

Tag Spam = Using irrelevant tags, especially popular tags. Using tags improperly makes it hard to find good and relevant content.
Please use relevant tags when posting! Abusing tags can potentially lead to people flagging you, even from dan himself.

Specific Tags

#steemit / #steem

Please only use the steemit tag for articles distinctly related to steemit itself.

@steemcleaners Updated the post! Thanks for the redirection! :)