The sweet allure of Google

in #technology6 years ago

Gone are the days when Google was just a search engine that made browsing the internet an easier and more pleasant experience. Today it seems that Google is intent on taking over the world - they have apps and ventures into email, social media, navigation, music streaming and much more. By signing up to each of these apps, you are giving more and more of your data and personal information to Google to sell, and also to create more targeted (creepy) advertising. There are alternatives to Google products which I have started to explore, but moving away from Google isn't as easy as it would seem.

google-485611_1280.jpg

Google the search engine, and Google Chrome


These two products are at the core of Googles business, and it turns out (for me anyway) are the easiest to move away from - and are also the products that collect the most data about you!

Mozilla Firefox


I recently did some research and decided upon Mozilla Firefox as my alternate browser - it doesnt require a Google account, and is big on personal security with all sorts of addons. So far I have been impressed with its functionality and focus on privacy and security. Other alternatives include Safari, TOR (no its not just for browsing the dark web!) and Opera.

Duckduckgo - a privacy search engine


Using Google has become more and more painful for me - yes it gives you results you want but it is giving more and more ads based on your search history. There has even been accusations that they only show certain results based on your search history and preferences.

I recently found Duckduckgo as a worthy alternative. There selling point and 'slogan' is '

Take Back Your Privacy! Switch to the search engine that doesn't track you. Ever.'

I have found so far that it has given me the result I have been after without those annnoying ads! They don't ask for any of your personal information, and you can select what search history they keep or whether they wipe it each time you go to their website.

mallard-1893080_1280.jpg

I wonder if Mallard the duck uses Google?

Google Maps

As we have been doing a fair bit of travel, Google Maps is one app I have come to love and wouldn't be without. There are alternative navigation apps - and yes I have tried most of them - Maps.Me and Herewego are the two main competitors. I found both sufficient, but found they lack the detail and ease of use of Google maps. Although one thing I like about Maps.me is the ability to download offline maps easily - this has always been a gripe of mine about Google maps. For the moment I am stuck with Google maps as I dont see a better alternative.

Gmail

Gmail is another major app from Google - and yes I have had a Gmail account for years. Although thye are great and easy to use I am going to look at moving away from Gmail at some point soon - it just takes time to change all your accounts email adresses - and I think this is why others don't jump ship.





With email there are so many legitamite competitors that I don't think finding one will be a challenge. Outlook seems like a good place to start looking - does anyone have any suggestions for alternate email servers?

Google Play Music


There are many that have subscribed to Google Play Music (not me!), although in this case I know there are many alternatives. I use Spotify Premium, which costs a very reasonable 10 Euro a month. I have never used Google Play Music, and don't see the point in changing from Spotify when it works perfectly well for me. Another alternative I looked at was Deezer, which was also around the same price.

Conclusion


Google has become a giant company who has moved into just about every competitive digital space - and collect more data on us than ever before. Although completly removing yourself from Google may not be the option, I think it is time to atleast evaluate the alternatives and give other apps a test drive - whats the worst that could happen?

What do you think - do you use Google exclusively, or are you open to alternatives? Any app suggestions would be welcome!

All images downloaded from pixabay.com

DQmQzFM2sDp5wYpaoktgk9L8RzJCCwPgheNTHo23JUwfAGZ.jpeg

Sort:  

Yes, gooble are a bunch of evil zionist scum alright!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@sift666/a-browser-for-all-seasons

I found DuckDuckGo to be fantastic in the sense it pulls things that may not usually be displayed to you through Google, almost like a metal detector with a wider range. I also notice because of its private nature, when searching for something based on location, you need to be quite specific as it hasn’t predetermined your current location and tailored its results to places near you. This sometimes returns funny results and I’ve had to jump back to Google to find a local place. For email, I am a fan of ProtonMail, there is also an app so logging in and checking emails is easy, and it’s encrypted, apparently :)

Yeah I have found the same thing! Didnt realise how much Google controlled what you see in your search results!

Awesome I will keep Protonmail in mind for the future when I get around to changing from Gmail :)

I really liked reading you @conradt here I am learning with you.
Good vibes.

I experimented with duckduckgoose awhile back on one of my older laptops but never revisited using it. I may give it another shot.

  • Google is skynet and is taking over ... we are the resistance :)

Worth another go. So far I am finding it good!

🚀 This is a stellar post! 🚀

I will be featuring it in my weekly #technology and #science curation post for the @minnowsupport project and the Tech Bloggers' Guild! The Tech Bloggers' Guild is a new group of Steem bloggers and content creators looking to improve the overall quality of our niche.

Wish not to be featured in the curation post this Friday? Please let me know. In the meantime, keep up the hard work, and I hope to see you at the Tech Bloggers' Guild!


If you have a free witness vote and like what I am doing for the Steem blockchain it would be an honor to have your vote for my witness server. Either click this SteemConnect link or head over to steemit.com/~witnesses and enter my username it the box at the bottom.

Awesome thanks so much! Will check out the Discord now :)

For searches, I’ve been using DuckDuckGo more and more but have a ways to go to wean myself from other Google services. 😉

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Post Successful Resteem

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by conradt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 11.12 % upvote from @boomerang.

https://www.startpage.com/ and https://www.searx.me/ and https://www.yandex.com/ search engines

Alternative reddit (decentralised/distributed) no need to log in https://notabug.io

I like Yours as well.
I just downloaded the Brave browser.
I've tried Tutanota and Protonmail and I hate their layout, format, and inability to show new mail messages. I keep going back to gmail because it does what I want my email to do -- show me the preview of content, and is search friendly. I need those two functions. I use them CONSTANTLY.

Couldn't agree more!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Although completly removing yourself from Google may not be the option, I think it is time to atleast evaluate the alternatives and give other apps a test drive - whats the worst that could happen?.
It should be completely instead of completly.

You do realise that boring people into submission is not the best way to increase Steemit participation?

your Jewish mate is back soon, take care with heroes SteemTruthToday at 08:08
I'm good buddy. Plan on coming back in October. How are you?

I'm all confused now - are you being cryptic?

nope, your buddy steemtruth will be back next month, and yes, he is Jewish, UN-cryptic eh! I am out of here bro, it smells bad.

How did you find out that?

It's been 7 months now

https://steemit.com/@steemtruth

Any thoughts on why it is that so much deep conspiracy Info comes from a few Jews, while on the other hand most of them seem to be playing roles set up by the zionist overlords?

No comment, I like living.

SteemTruth21/02/2018
Olmert was the Israeli Prime Minister - he was Deputy PM when I met him
someone arranged it. More of a photo op and shake hands than anything else. A guide gave a group of us a tour of the Knesset and the Old City.
I wasn't awake to zionism back then but I saw the hatred for arabs and I also spoke to arabs about life and it's not good

SteemTruth21/02/2018
zionism and judaism are different. I've lived in Israel
dated an Israeli for 3 years

Bro that's me done, I have a daughter to bring up, there is nobody going to kill her or me, they got to come by me, end of, I copped out now.

Oh man you are an active little steemian aren't you?

I think zionists use Jews as a cover story and like to push the martyrdom/holohoax angles, and most Jews just go along with it.

But as far as your latest no comment post goes I think they also do it with "Illuminati" (really just zionists)as well, and that all the WW3 is planned shit is just a psyop, and that atomic bombs are an utter load of horseshit that have never existed. (lots of fake pictures though)

I no longer have a comment, and I am going blind, so sorry, I cop out