Windows is for beginners and Linux is for advance users. Quite the opposite!

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

People have been saying that Linux is for advance users, that if you are not an expert you should stick with Windows, but in my opinion is quite the opposite.

With All the new distributions, there's a Linux flavor for anyone, and nowadays with the Desktop environments, you don't even need to use commands like before, let me ask you something. has it ever happened to you that you are visiting your parents or grand parents, and they tell you they need you to check their computer because it's been acting up? you turn on the computer and immediately you start to get pop ups, you open the browser and it's all tool bars, the actual navigation window is just only like an inch square. 

The truth is to use windows and not get viruses, worms, spyware and all the nasty stuff out there, you need to be an expert, even if you have a good antivirus, i'm not going to say Linux does not get viruses because that's a myth, but it's very unlikely it will, but we all have struggled with our parents or grand parents calling us because their computer is not working as it should.

Five years ago my sister gave  my mother a brand new laptop, my first thought was "Great! now i will be the one dealing with this computer every week" but i decided that i was not going to endure that, i installed Ubuntu, and it took me about one hour to teach her how to use it for all the things that she was going to be using, you know regular stuff, the browser, how to check email, Facebook and YouTube, up to this day, that computer is running smoothly and my mom has never called me telling me that something is wrong with the computer.