Hey Hive, is email destroying your productivity?

in #technology3 years ago

I spoke with Cal Newport, Professor of Computer Science at Georgetown University and author of several books, including most recently "A World Without Email: Reimagining Work in an Age of Communication Overload," about email and culture.

Sort:  

I hate email for internal work within a company. Some seem stuck on each employee having their own Outlook and reading and responding to new mails asap. For me, I'm better when I bulk reading mails once or twice a day and tell my boss and most close colleagues they can always reach me fast with a Direct Message on Teams and/or SMS.

It's ok for me to use email to deal with external work (clients, subcontractors etc), but I suppose my inbox has not yet reached the scale where it's an overload. Whenever that happens, I would certainly look to get a Virtual Assistant...

People at my company sometimes have a hard time understanding that I won't immediately respond to slack, or emails, or text messages, or unscheduled phone calls, or electronic task assignements, etc. My role usually requires me to bury my head into a problem and try to find the subtle cues that will lead me to the needle in a haystack. The only way to concentrate on a single thread for 20-30 minutes at a time is to turn off those distractions.

"... many of the tasks that are distributed throughout the day ... were historically handled by an assistant, secretary ... Is this a cost savings?..."

I believe that many companies are eventually going to start shifting the numbers of higher-paid professionals more towards lower-paid assistants . The exact numbers of each will be dynamic and different for each company. Inevitably, I see it as part of the role of Human Resources to determine how many employees of each skillset will be employed. (queue the union demands)

Email is great tool as long as the message is focused and not to long with lots of details.

Just giving you fair warning....you post lies and un researched politics, twisted half truths and your other leftist bullshit.....I will downvote you forever. I knew you would come back because you are a crypto slut just like everyone else. People like me got cancelled on YouTube , while they worshiped liars like you because it fit the political narrative. Where is you FUCKING OUTRAGE VIDEO as an American citizen against platforms protected By Section 230 censoring a Elected President? That's right soy boy....you only stand up for the rights that matter to you!

you seriously lost your youtube channel? I cant say im surprised, but at the same time, it kind of proves blockchain will eventually replace legacy media.