You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Piracy on Steemit, a Rising Problem?

in #technology7 years ago

Yeah, that's exactly what I would like to see (for images anyway). As you can see in this post, underneath each image I put a link to the source I found it at (just Google Images mind you, but the original image can be viewed from there).

However yes, you do have a point. How can we know where the image actually comes from. I guess the only way to make it work is to have everybody be honest and link back to the original source.. Then there would be no confusion. But that's a bit too much positive thinking I feel...

But yeah, unless the image or media is yours, I think you should always state where you found it. After all, it essentially is stealing.

Definitely more to think about, that's for sure....

Thanks for such a great and in-depth comment. I appreciate it! And thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

Well this subject interests me :)
and I think I from now on will list the sources I use for pictures to be a good example.

But surely, just link to where you found it would be a good start, then your own back is safe.

my idea would be something like this:

and all sources and credits will be listed at the bottom in grey so they arent "disturbing"

a new box under the blog/reply box instead of under every picture used. then you can have a full list of credits and not annoyingly listed throughout the post.

oh and also, you do know you are allowed to use 5 tages on your post right?
in this case you probably should as it is a subject that needs more attention I would say :)

Me too! For sure.

As a photographer, I thank you for that, I've had my pictures used before without my permission and it really sucks... Sometimes you can act about it and do something, but half the time it's just not even worth it. It would just be nice if it never happened in the first place.

Yeah, while we don't have power over other people providing sources for their media, at least we can ourselves! And hopefully we can lead by example and people will follow.

Hmm, that's actually a really cool idea, I like it a lot! It would keep the post clean, but have all the relevant information!

Oh, I thought I had 5 tags already! I will change it... But I'm really not sure what to tag it as!

Yea I can imagine that must suck a little...

Dont know about the tag.

My upvote isnt worth much so hope this helps :)

Thank you very much! I appreciate it a lot :)

I'm going to keep thinking about it and see what I can come up with! I hope we can bring more attention to this problem.