Setting up a HTPC with auto-download through Sonarr / Radarr configured through UseNet

in #technology7 years ago

Ever wanted to know how to configure a HTPC from scratch?

Buckle up, this is gonna be a long one!

So all the downloading is completed through Usenet which used to be something like an email / info sharing alternative for newsgroups and whatnot which eventually turned into a solid downloading platform.

Initial setup / Choosing a Provider:

You'll firstly need to subscribe to a Usenet provider, I recently switched to a new one which has been excellent which I recommend: Newsgroup Ninja(I was swayed by the name) https://www.newsgroup.ninja/ It's about $8US per month which works out to something like 11 or 12 bucks AU I think. Worth every cent. When you login and sign up, they'll give you all the details you need. Server name, username/password, you'll need these later to setup downloads. I also recommend using an overseas server, these guys have one from the Netherlands. Really it just completes more downloads. US files get taken down regularly with DCMA restrictions. Netherlands it seems to take a while longer for their protection to kick in.

To kick off that sweet-sweet downloading:


Application to download media: Sabnzbd.

This app is pretty easy, download from https://sabnzbd.org/ and install. The installer guides you through setup fairly well and keeps things automated. All you really need to do here is run through the prompts and then it'll get to a stage where you can input your server and username details, throw in the ones you got from Ninja earlier, click the advanced settings and crank the connections up to 50. Enable SSL if you like, I've enabled it and so far it's working well.
That should get you up to speed to get downloads going, now you'll need an indexer where all the NZB / download files come from. They're like Torrents really. NZBGeek is the best at the moment, they've been around for a while. start an account with them: https://nzbgeek.info/ and you can test if Sabnzbd works or not by downloading an NZB file and adding it to Sabnzbd. NZBGeek offers a trial initially then if you're keen on it I think you purchase varying amounts of time to stay with them which they call ‘VIG’ - I only ever renew yearly at the moment because everything seems to shut down every few years. So far so good with these dudes though! If it requires an invite or you need a referral i think you can throw in my username in the referral field on sign up: alanshore42 is my username for referral.


To setup auto-downloading for TV Shows: Sonarr is your friend. https://sonarr.tv/

Download and install Sonarr, It has an option to install as a windows service which I enabled and it starts on boot now. Setting Sonarr up is for the most part pretty easy. Run through the installer, then you can link it through to Sabnzbd and NZBGeek. Once Sonarr is running, click into settings and under 'Download Client'. Click the + button and select Sabnzbd, it should already have the host and port setup but you nede an API key from Sabnzbd. You'll need to jump across to Sabnzbd and go to the config section and find the API key, copy and paste this key into the Sonarr setup for Sabnzbd. Save the config, this should now be connected.

Now you just need to connect NZBGeek to Sonarr. Next to Download Client, there's an option for Indexers. Click in here and under Newsnab there's a drop-down for presets. Select NZBGeek from the list. Similar sort of thing as adding Sabnzbd, you need to log into your NZBGeek account and go to your profile, copy and past the API key from your profile into Sonarr and save. Email yourself a copy of both Sabnzbd and NZBGeek API keys for later to setup in Android.

Now in Sonarr you can setup your auto-downloads, it makes everything mega easy. Add a show, select how you want to download it(Future episodes, all of it, etc.).


Auto-downloading for Movies: Radarr. https://radarr.video

Really, all you need to do is substitute the word Sonarr with Radarr in the above setup for Sonarr. It’s made by the same dudes, so it’s pretty much the same thing but for downloading movies.


Android app setup - This one took me a little bit but well worth it.

NZB360 is the app, to use it fully you have to upgrade it to premium with an in-app purchase. I think it's about $6 or something, worth it. Some pre-setup stuff, you have to open/forward the ports for Sabnzbd, Radarr and Sonarr. I did this on my server through the firewall and then on my router. Essentially you need to open ports 8989, 7878 and 8080 to connect in remotely on your phone.

Grab your external IP address - I literally just googled 'what is my IP' and it showed up in google. Go into Settings in NZB360, click Sabnzbd and enter your IP address in the provided field, under Port enter 8080 and copy and paste your API key in. Now, for Sonarr do the same but the port will be 8989 and the API key will be different.
And that's it! Automation is the best. The cost of using usenet is definitely worth it, maxes out your connection.

I'd also suggest using Plex Media Server - (I will write a guide for this soon), depending on your media playing setup at home.

How I have it setup is Sonarr will download my TV and Plex will auto-scan everything, I’ve got my media set to scan the folders where Sonarr moves / renames all the files for me. Then I play through Plex to my TV, I have the app on my Xbox One and a laptop i connected to my TV.

Hopefully, this all makes a sense - Any questions, ask away! Happy downloading!

Sort:  

Put a picture in your post so that it shows up in the feed! A picture will attract more people to check out what you have to offer!

These days people are using Exodus on Kodi, and don't need so much infrastructure, and it works on their phone ;-)