Sort:  

Very true! From a monetary standpoint Windows is certainly not their cash-cow like it used to be. Computers still need Operating Systems though, so something will have to fill the void that is forming. Maybe it will be Linux? MacOS? Maybe it’s an as of yet uncreated OS that will be built to fill the gap made by Windows 10. Only time will tell.

Many thanks! It was a sorta in-the-spot typed article after I saw the results of the survey. However, I do think it’s important to note that between now and January 14, 2020, will be a very interesting to watch what happens to those usage statistics, as well as general OS usage statistics in general.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess Linux will play an important role. Server, Smartphones, Smart Devices and more are already built on Linux.
So I guess it will fill this gap once gaming and important programs will work on Linux.
Only time will tell.

Yeah, I definitely think Linux has the ability to fill at least some of that void being created by Windows 10. Like I said in my post, I'm building a gaming PC currently (which I still need to post about) and I'm gonna be using Linux as my primary, and hopefully only, OS for it. I think the work being done by both hardware and software manufacturers to include compatibility with Linux shows that they are betting on Linux desktops not staying a small percentage of usage.

I'll also be posting here shortly about what gaming PC setup I will be using, what the specs are, the prices, and the performance. So stay tuned for those posts! :)