You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Future survival skills: are you techno - literate ?

in #technology7 years ago

It is interesting (and a bit scary) how I who just recently graduated with a degree in economics, still feel that my education is outdated. Why? Because we only used analog tools!

Sure I can do a lot of statistical and data analysis. Give me a dataset and I'll plug it into SPSS or STATA and produce any advanced analysis you'll ask for. However, we didn't learn to write a single line of code! So while all the companies our education system were aiming to steer us into are still looking for our analog expertise, it is these companies that faces challenges to become digital. To move from analog tools that provide a one time analysis of data, to digital tools like R and Python, that can import similar datasets over, and over, and over again. And not only produce the same task indefinately, but also improve the quality of the results with Machine Learning.

Luckily, there are plenty of high quality online courses freely available for anyone with the determination to learn. So I have set myself the goal of taking the step from an economist / data analyst to becoming an economist / data scientist over the next ~2 years. The good news is that everyone, everywhere, are exposed to the same phenomenon, so it's all up for grabs for those who want to learn to take the high seat!

WVAM00G.jpg

Sort:  

good thinking. Have a look at "The inevitable" by Kevin Kelly: I believe in it he makes the case that the people who will make out best in the future are those who are able to team up with technology... so your strategy seems sound !

great quote by the way need to read me some more Alvin

I love the quote. Have had it attached to the corkboard over the desk where I used to study as a student, and now continue on taking some courses still. Gives good motivation!

Check out google nano degrees by the way: They seem to be right up your alley for data and machine learning. Finish that and you are pretty much 100% guaranteed to have a no doubt lucrative job.
https://www.udacity.com/nanodegree