Quick Crypto Investment Portfolio Overview App - Programming Project - Part 1

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

pp1banner.png

So I've woken up and the bitcoin price, as per, has made a large move. Now I want to check the value of my cryptocurrency investments. This is my current method:

  1. Open up my BTC and LTC electrum wallets on my computer, find my passwords and then check the balance - these have a handy feature of auto conversion into FIAT from an exachange you select. I'll probably be using more currency wallets on my PC in the future.
  2. Find the value of the bitcoin in my TenX wallet which is helpfully given in GBP.
  3. Open up steemit and check my balance. Depending on the required accuracy I'll either just take the USD value or actually convert the STEEM amount through some sort of exchange, then convert that to GBP.
  4. Open up Firefox, load Kraken, log in, find the EUR balance and then convert that to GBP since the GBP market on kraken suffers from low volume.
  5. Add up all the values and then to then find the value of my cryptocurrency investments.

I think because its relatively easy to check the balance for each account, limited work has been done to create a collective account overview application. The way things are going, the number of currencies and applications I use is only going to increase and I feel like I need a better way to get to grips with my investments.

The goal of today's programming will be to create an open source python script to get the balance from the various wallets and apps that I use. Creating an open source project will hopefully result in other people to adding their own methods for different projects so the app can have a broader scope.

Although today this will just be a simple python API calling script, this could be deployed as a web app service to serve phone apps or websites in the future. Allowing you to conveniently get a detailed overview of your investments without having to spend half an hour on excel.

This should be able to be automated easily because all of the services have good APIs - apart from perhaps TenX. Unfortunately the TenX app does not seem to update the wallet when transactions are performed so I can't just use a general blockchain API. For BTC and LTC wallets I think I should be able to use an API like blockchain.info and the exchanges have decent, if not always accessible, APIs.

If you know of any projects that are similar to this or can share any advice about what I'm doing, please post in the comments. If you'd like to help develop I'll be posting github links in the next project update so feel free to follow for updates and other related posts.

Thanks for reading! More updates to come.

Sort:  

Looks like this is an old post, but anyway. I found out a simple web app that updates your crypto values. Amounts should be updated manually. But for HODLers it is ok.

https://coinhodler.io/

Yeah, there are other apps like blockfolio and things like that - I never got round to finishing this thing, but I still think automatic updating is a pretty key feature

I have not found a good solution myself. But this simple website gives an overall view on how things are going. And it is good as a starting point for my own app if I get my hands on it some time.