I just discovered Windows Factory Restore Feature

in #technology6 years ago

So this is a story about the Baudelaire Brothers and how their happy life was destroyed in a second by an evil and secret organization... Ok, No.. This is not what I'm going to tell right now!

Last week my Windows 10 crashed because of an update (Weird, right? When in all life a PC got crashed by a Windows update o.o) I just got back from vacations and boot up the OS. Windows takes like 2 or 3 hours to install those mysterious updates that downloaded someday I didn't notice. And then it boots the login screen!

login_screen.png

And just when I'm logging in.. Windows takes me back to the login Screen :D

You can imagine my face when I see this, right? Or better, you can see it:

photo5138739885480454102.jpg

Before I start to panic, I try to log in with another user to check if the error applies to all, but I log in fine! So the thing was my user account.

Long story short, there was a Windows update that created a conflict with some visual tweaks I installed on the taskbar and explorer. Windows couldn't handle it so it kept kicking me out to the login screen. After searching on Google to solve this (And praying I wouldn't have to reinstall windows) I found a post that showed me how to Factory Reset Windows. I mean, stop! Really? There is a Factory Reset option? and the worst thing is: This feature exists since Windows 7, so you can see (again) my surprise face:

photo5138739885480454102.jpg

Apparently, All you have to do is (on Windows 10):

  1. Click Windows Start Menu (or just press Win key) and type Recovery Options and choose it from the Search Results.

  2. On the Recovery Options Section of Updates and Security, Click on Restore this PC.

  3. You get to choose how do you want to restore your Windows: Keeping your data or deleting all :) (I guess the best option is to keep your data).

And that's it!

I hope you never experience this problem because it's annoying and keep this tip somewhere safe :)

May the force be with you!

Sort:  

That double surprise face pic was really funny.