You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Technology] The Smart Home That Spied On It's Owner

in #technology6 years ago

Thank you bud! I've heard good things about the Amazon speakery things, but I'm so cautious when it comes it internet-enabled devices. If you're up for a bit of a project, you can build your own Alexa voice assistant with a Raspberry Pi: https://lifehacker.com/how-to-build-your-own-amazon-echo-with-a-raspberry-pi-1787726931
I can't listen to it right now sadly, but I'll play it first thing in the morning. I haven't read any of Bradbury's work, but I've been after a new audiobook for a while now actually so that's probably a good opportunity to try some out. There is so much good sci-fi from that period, it's a bit scary how prophetic some of it can be. I've always enjoyed Arthur C. Clarke's works ever since I was a kid.
I'll have a read of that while listening tomorrow, gives me a reason to get up early!