My solar experiment - not that great

in #technology7 years ago

A while back I wanted to experiment with using solar power to see if it was cost effective to use on a day to day basis. So I purchased a UPG UB12900 AGM type sealed lead acid battery and a NPower four hundred watt power inverter. I also purchased a NPower one hundred watt cystaline solar panel and a SunForce charge controller. I found that on a bright sunny day it takes about five hours to recharge the battery from seventy five percent capacity to one hundred percent capacity. It is very important to not let the battery drop below seventy five percent capacity. In order to get electricity from the agm battery I hooked it up to my power inverter.

I powered a computer modem and computer router for about 10 hours before disconnecting the power inverter from the battery because the fan started up. The fan on the power inverter starts when the voltage from the battery drops and get harder to pull across the wire. This is just my findings of how the equipment performed and it does not reflect what other people have experienced using the same equipment due to location in the United States and other factors.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mschwery! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!